Oyster Vision 1

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by gibbo57, Sep 6, 2016.

1. gibbo57

gibbo57 Funster

Hi, I am new to this forum. I am experienced in Motorhoming in Ireland and all around Europe.
    My background is in Electronics Hardware and Software design. As many of you are no doubt aware the Oyster Vision 1 Satellite System is no longer supported by ten Haaft GmbH.
    I have been contacted by several Motorhome owners who were looking for a solution to the problem that did not involve forking out £500-700 for a new Oyster Satellite controller. I now have a working solution to the problem which necessitates an add on box that fits beside the old wedge shaped control panel. The new box has a Keypad and LCD Display the enables the user to input and save new Transponder settings.
    This solution will work for automatic searching for Astra 2 or any other satellite that can be received in Ireland/UK/Europe.
    See attached photo of working unit.
    John

Attached Files:

• Like Like x 3
  2. funflair

funflair Funster Life Member

We have a fairly simple modification to our Oyster vision 1 it consists of a second LNB a change over switch and a bit of jiggery pokery in the software box and it searches for Astra 1 and locks on, switch the switch and it is on Astra 2.

Martin

3. Geo

Geo Trader - Funster

I take it your box of tricks is FREE to all as you make no mention of being trader and have made no attempt to observe trader advertising rules

• Like Like x 1
  4. gibbo57

gibbo57 Funster

Some Oyster Vision 1 systems will not lock on to Astra 1 in Ireland/UK. The transponder frequencies/settings are no longer in use.

5. Wanderlust 7

Wanderlust 7 Read Only Funster

Hello Could you give me more information on this box as our Oyster 1 is useless now and we are going to be selling our Motorhome next year so do not want to spend fortunes.

6. tonyidle

tonyidle Funster

I'm very interested. Can you post more details please?

7. Wanderlust 7