No signal for TV on old Swift Mondial. (1 Viewer)

Sep 19, 2018
Snowdonia
Funster No
MH
Swift Mondial
Exp
I'm a newbie.
Hi, When I recently went on first trip, the TV would'nt work, which I expected as it looked like an analogue aeriel inside but has one of those flying saucer like dishes on the roof!! ( Van is old).
I know I sound stupid but I don't understand these tech things but on Internet have seen these devices to fix to roof but they had a box to plug in on the inside. Is this box a signal booster and if so is that all I need to buy separately?
Thanks in advance for any advice.

Jan 8, 2013
Dronfield - Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 690G
Exp
Happy FLT since 2011
It might be there but switched off. Look for a chimney with and ariel and point it in the same direction then retune the tv. All channels are digital these days.

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
one of those flying saucer like dishes on the roof!! ( Van is old).
Is this box a signal booster and if so is that all I need to buy separately?

Sounds like a Status 530, not one of the best aerials but will work fine in a good signal area. The aerial should plug into a small amplifier box with a switch on it. If switched off you'll get nothing.

You say "analogue aerial inside", there is no difference between analogue and digital, same aerial, the old plugs were the soldered/screwed types whereas for cheapness the new F connector just uses the aerial wire as the pin.

So find the box and make sure it's switch on ( I'm pretty sure an LED lights up ).

It has a plug in power lead, this can pull out.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999