New radio etc for Fiat X250

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Autowbars, Aug 11, 2016.

  1. Autowbars

    Autowbars Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    I have std fiat radio in MH, above it is another slot where I keep my glasses, can I fit one of them bigger radios that look double the vertical size?
    Maybe one that has the dreaded sat nav.
    The fiat std one is CRAP, keeps loosing signal, or is the aerial, wherever it is as I can't figure that bit out.
    I always like my radio 2 whilst driving, in west of Scotland at mo and signal goes every blooming corner.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  2. Petest

    Petest Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    Uk
    Following with interest.
     
  3. tjay

    tjay Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Dundee
    Hi, caraudio warehouse on ebay has one item number - 170993746892. I have one in our moho and a pioneer stereo fitted too, no gps as i have a tom tom that i use with all my POI's saved over years of travelling !!
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2016
  4. dave newell lvs

    dave newell lvs Trader-Vehicle Services

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,509
    Likes Received:
    3,308
    Location:
    Telford, Shropshire
    That number is only a double din fitting kit not actually a radio head unit.

    To the OP, yes you can fit a double din head unit and it can have as many or as few features as you want but replacing the head unit may not solve the poor reception which is most likely down to a poor aerial installation. Many Ducatos have the aerial on the cab roof but this often gets removed when a motorhome body is fitted.

    D.
     
  5. vin.egan

    vin.egan Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    I have the same problem, pretty sure its the aerial which is on the nearside pillar, am thinking maybe itd be better to upgrade to DAB and have a better aerial fitted at the same time.
     
  6. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,969
    Likes Received:
    1,637
    Location:
    Salisbury
    You can fit double din head unit the aerial for our 2013 Ducato was in the passenger side mirror which I believe is now the spot a sod when you bust the mirror.
     
  7. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,563
    Likes Received:
    11,535
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Just a thought, but do you have a dash cam fitted near the rear view mirror? I found my cheapie interfered with the radio because the radio aerial was directly above it. When I turned off the dash cam the radio reception was fine. Not all dash cams do this but some can.
     
  8. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,969
    Likes Received:
    1,637
    Location:
    Salisbury
    We have an Exsis now and I haven't a clue where the aerial is but we also have a DAB aerial stuck on the windscreen don't get any interference from our Nextbase camera that sits centrally on the dash.
     
  9. WillH

    WillH Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,608
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    I live in the West of Scotland and the radio reception is awful anyway.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  10. dicksob

    dicksob Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Edinburgh United Kingdom
    Hi, I've a kenwood dab/sat nav/ reversing camera double din unit fitted, good reception on fm and dab (mostly) poorish on mw. Great unit, clear mapping (garmin) and no clutter!

    Bill
     
  11. Autowbars

    Autowbars Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    My dash cam is right above the radio, where the mirror should be.
    Going to try leaving it off today.
    Also I use an old IPad with TT for sat nav.
    Seems to be better reception when that is off!

    Back in Yorkshire now, weather in Scotland has been terrible this past ten days. Most overnight stops fine, but one place on Loch Lomond was TERRIBLE, and not for radio reception!!!!!!!!
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page