Motorhome Manoeuvering Course?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by norfolkenchants, Jan 3, 2014.

1. norfolkenchants

norfolkenchants Read Only Funster

I am brand new to motorhoming and pick up my new Vantage Neo van conversion (6.4 meters long) in April. I have been driving for more than 40 years but never driven anything this size. The Caravan Club runs one day courses for newbies (at £145!) and I was wondering if folk think these are worth doing with van conversion of this size? Any views much appreciated!

2. Dawn B

Dawn B Funster

£145 seems a lot, but what cost a prang. I'm also a bit apprehensive about driving ours on anything smaller than an 'A' road - ours is 7.33 mtrs long.

3. lorger

lorger Funster

Hi there
    I think it totally depends on how you feel, personally I would just drive to an empty industrial estate and play around with it. It's just like driving a big car.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Jim

Jim Ringleader

I doubt you will need to go on their course. It will feel different, but you'll discover that most of what is different makes for easier driving. First of all you be much higher than you are in a car giving you plenty of visibility. Secondly the mirrors on your van will be much better than you are used to in a car so you'll be well aware of what's going on behind you too.:thumb:

You just need to get used to the length and the height. You will find after driving just a few miles that the vehicle will sort of shrink around you and you will feel very comfortable in it. So my advice would be to save your money and do a few hundred miles in her first.:Smile:

• Like Like x 10
  5. acting_strange

acting_strange

I get a new Motorhome Manoeuvring Course every time I get in the RH seat and SWMBO gets in the LH seat.....:Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:

• Like Like x 10
  6. g8ysn

g8ysn Funster

g8ysn

as suggested take it out and play with it [ i mean the camper],spend what you save on a good reversing camera:thumb:

• Like Like x 7