motorhome fun very slow

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by GEOMAR, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. GEOMAR

    GEOMAR Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    I find it takes a long time to open and when open, takes long time to open forums. My 6 month old laptop is on windows 10 and provider is orange, please help
    GEOMAR
     
  2. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    2,533
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    Working ok for me on Android with plusnet
     
  3. Langtoftlad

    Langtoftlad Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    3,946
    Location:
    Langtoft, South Lincs
    +1
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,951
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Works for me...maybe you have a slow connection.....

    B&Q website on the other hand, quicker to get in the car and go to the store.
     
    • Funny Funny x 3
  5. GEOMAR

    GEOMAR Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Thanks but doesn't really help
    GEOMAR
     
  6. DanielFord

    DanielFord Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,199
    Likes Received:
    2,489
    Location:
    Surrey
    @GEOMAR you need to clean your cache, which sounds rude, but really it isn't. See this link here:
    https://support.google.com/accounts/answer/32050?hl=en

    Also, it wouldn't be a bad idea to run a spyware scan, do a google search for malware bytes anti malware. Do both of these and you should be back to normal again :D
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  7. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    2,533
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    It helps to know how many users it affects and their specific OS/browser/ISP just in case @Jim needs to take a look... but I'm with @DanielFord .. clean your cache if you haven't already.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. DanielFord

    DanielFord Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,199
    Likes Received:
    2,489
    Location:
    Surrey
    I was going to say that it appears fine on my 100mb fibre internet, but then I realised that that was not exactly helpful! :blusher:
     
  9. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    running fine here on win 7 , with chrome , on fibre
     
  10. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,283
    Likes Received:
    12,123
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    I also have a 6 month old laptop running windows 10 and tonight things are running fine

    that suggests to me it must be your laptop or your connection, I often have similar slow running, which I blame on BT, I guess a key will be are other web sites any quicker
     
  11. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    2,533
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    Ah well.. I'll keep quiet about my 56meg then...
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  12. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,705
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    My connection speed has been down well below 1m all day ( it is still low now )
    Gonna fone talktalk tomorrow if it has not improved..
    I do not get a high speed even normally ( about 4.5m ) but now.. I might as well send a letter rather than email !
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  13. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,705
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    And today it is back up to the normal whizzy 4.5 m .. WOW !!! LOL !
     
  14. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,941
    Likes Received:
    10,715
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    I am also on 100mb on Virgin with a clear cache but Fun has also been slow for me for the past few days using firefox and others. seems ok today but time will tell...(y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,371
    Likes Received:
    9,646
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    All well for me lately although my download speed is down this morning to 8.27 from a normal 11+.
     
  16. Whitebirdyman

    Whitebirdyman Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Kent
    Fun has been really slow for me lately using the Edge browser but it is OK with Chrome, both are the latest versions and the computer is otherwise OK.

    In general Edge does perform better overall for me when using this Surface Pro 4, I have touch and scrolling problems with Chrome even having enabled the relevant Flags. I need to investigate Edge a bit more to see what the problem is. From other people's comments and my experience with Chrome, it is not actually Fun itself that is slow.
     
  17. Whitebirdyman

    Whitebirdyman Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Kent
    Reporting back quickly that I have solved my slow Fun with Edge:)

    I did not have Adblock plus installed on Edge but I did on Chrome, installing it now has made a big difference to the loading speed.

    What surprises me is that the adverts served with Fun seem to slow it down so much for me.
     
  18. GEOMAR

    GEOMAR Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Hi funsters
    thanks I will try chrome
    Geomar
     
  19. Whitebirdyman

    Whitebirdyman Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Kent
    And an Ad blocker?
     
  20. GEOMAR

    GEOMAR Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    I have installed chrome and speeded up fun .I also installed adblock plus but I still get all the ads on fun
    Geomar
     
Loading...

Share This Page