modem ip address

Discussion in 'Computers' started by pappajohn, Dec 20, 2008.

  1. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,963
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    can anyone tell me how to input my modem ip address into the search bar to access the modem config menu.

    each time i enter the address it tries to go online by adding http// before the number and it should access it from the modem itself......not the net.
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,963
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    bump
     
  3. Bryan

    Bryan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    342
    Hi John,


    You SHOULD have HTTP:// in front, the router modems config page is a web page served by the device.

    If your router/modem has an IP of 192.168.1.1 then your browser address is http://192.168.1.1

    HTH
    Bryan
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,963
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    hi bryan,
    all iv done in the past is put 192.168.1.254 in the search bar and it goes straight to the modems settings.
    as im trying to set up the router on the pc the web connection is not available on the pc so it wont access the http page if this makes sense.
     
  5. Bryan

    Bryan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    342
    Is you PC configured to be on the same network as the router?

    Click 'Start', 'Run'

    Type cmd and press 'Enter'

    In the resulting dos box type 'ipconfig' and press 'Enter'

    This tells you the IP etc. of your PC.

    What is the IP
    What is the subnet mask?
    What is the default gateway?
     
  6. Kon tiki

    Kon tiki Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Wales
    I seem to recall having a similar problem a long time ago, in my case I think it was to do with the HOSTS.SAM or the LMHOSTS.SAM in the windows folder. It had some entries linked to websites that had the same address as my router so when I tried to check the router it couldn't find it.

    Other things to try apart from the other advice given is to try to ping the router with the address. Again type in CMD to get a Dos window then type ping 192.168.1.254, this will check to see if you can access the router. All you are doing is sending a signal to the router & seeing if it comes back.
    You could also you can add to the IPCONFIG /ALL for more information.
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,963
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    tried everything..............

    last option....and it was gonna happen anyway.......

    system recovery!!!!!!

    wipe the hard drive and start again.
    the hard drive has some files missing anyway and it is mega slow.

    tried defrag, disc cleanup, smart restore to clean it up but its so cluttered its unbeleivably slow.

    backing everything up, including prog files, to a 250gig external hard drive then, in an hour or so, when its finished backing up i'll shove the rec disc in.

    at least i'll get the system operating files back in their entirety.
     
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,963
    Location:
    YO11 2BD

    everything was working ok then it just quit.
    the modem is not giving its ip address to the computer.....
    this was why i needed to access the modems config/setup files.

    i did get the wireless connection back but it still wont access the web even though the other 3 puters are doing just fine.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2008
  9. Bryan

    Bryan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    342
    If three other computers are accessing the router just fine, why not access the routers config page from one of them?

    If the PC is not getting an IP from the router, it should have an IP address which starts 169.x.x.x

    If it does, you could set the IP of that PC to a static one, including the same subnet mask and default gateway as a working PC. Slightly different IP of course.

    If the router is failing to GIVE an IP to the PC then recovering the PC won't cure it. If the PC is failing to ASK for an IP then recovery might work, but so might giving it a static IP

    Bryan :Smile:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. jumar
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    612

Share This Page