Maxview outside socket

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Welsh girl, Aug 2, 2016.

  1. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Location:
    living the dream.
    I'm trying to get one of these off our outside wall to reconnect the satellite wire to the receiver inside.
    How does it come off please?
    Ive taken the screws out but it won't prise off.
    Any ideas please?
    A previous owner used the inside socket to have a connection for the roof aerial.
    We want to use it for an outside freestanding dish. Single-Socket-275x275.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2016
  2. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,232
    Likes Received:
    9,627
    Location:
    Dorset
    They come with a foam gasket but people tend to sikaflex them on to prevent leaks. it comes with the cable already attached, so you need to trace the wire inside the van and free it off before removing too
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Location:
    living the dream.
    When I took the screws out some sealant came with the screws so they may have sikaflexed it on as you say.
    We've found the cable coming inside but it's going to a splitter to the freeview box installed already within the cupboard that autotrail have fitted in the factory.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2016
  4. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,232
    Likes Received:
    9,627
    Location:
    Dorset
    with sikaflex the only way to remove it is to cut through it, which will destroy the plastic part
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,881
    Likes Received:
    2,701
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    If you can access the inside cable why do you need to remove the box?
     
  6. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Location:
    living the dream.
    I've accessed the cable. It was going to the freeview box. We thought there wasn't a satellite cable there but it's all done now. Thanks for the input
     
  7. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,881
    Likes Received:
    2,701
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    There's no electrical difference between 'satellite' cable and 'TV' cable apart from satellite cable is lower loss. If the run is more than a few feet satellite cable is essential for satellite reception. If it's only a short distance (which it always is in a MH) and TV cable already exists it will work fine for satellite reception.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page