Main battery lead to ZIG unit

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by Bruce, Apr 17, 2013.

  1. Bruce

    Bruce Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Looking for advice on ZIG unit. I have been advised to run a 4mm cable from main battery to my ZIG unit and install a 25 amp fuse as near to main battery as possible. What kind of fuse should I use? Halfords have a 25 amp inline fuse and holder with a 3mm wire. will this be ok or is there a better way? I already have the 4mm cable so would obviously prefer not to change this.
    4mm wire was advised due to the distance from battery to ZIG
    Thanks for any help...Bruce
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,966
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    not sure if you mean the cylindrical holder with a glass fuse but In my opinion this type is better and fuses are easy to source....maybe even a spare fuse or two in your chassis fuse box

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Bruce

    Bruce Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Glasgow
    This was the one I was thinking of but I was unsure about the 4mm wire going to 3mm wire on the fuse holder so will this be ok Thank you for advice...Bruce
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,966
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Do you mean this type with the pre-attached wires ?

    [​IMG]

    cant see it being a problem if you cut the wires as close as possible to the carrier to connect the 4mm ones but the one i linked will take the 4mm directly.

    a thin wire will carry a fair bit of current if its really short.
     
  5. Bruce

    Bruce Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Glasgow

    yes this is the one i was going to use. Thanks for reply wanted reassurance what would be the best way to route under the van about 5 or 6 metres........bruce
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,966
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    five or six meters bruce, i would use 6mm cable at least as its the main power supply cable into the van.

    secure with cable ties to chassis avoiding sharp edges and anything else which could cause damage.
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,966
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    just checked on a cable length calculator and they recommend......

    Allowable Voltage Drop 3 %
    Run Length 6 m
    Current Demand 25 A
    System Voltage 12 V

    Recommended Cable Size 25 mm2
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. rainbow chasers

    rainbow chasers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    1,720
    Location:
    Mid Cornwall
    I always remember it as the size goes up 1mm for every foot over the first six. It's a general rule of thumb, and it always pays to check the appliance/application first, but as a guide you won't go far wrong if you remember that.

    If battery inside box, you can use the open type fuse holder. If under bonnet or outside and exposed to damp, use the waterproof fuse holders. Most converters will use the open type, but have the fuse holder routed inside the van.
     
  9. Bruce

    Bruce Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Glasgow
    thank you good advice.......bruce
     
Loading...

Share This Page