leisure battery help

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by alsmith, Feb 7, 2012.

  1. alsmith

    alsmith Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oxford
    Hi

    I’ve got a j-reg t4 trident camper that’s fitted with a zig mc2000 unit.

    For some reason it has stopped working ,i.e. no power to socket, lights or water tank tester.
    I’ve checked the 6 fuses on the unit and they all look ok. plus the fuses on the charging unit.
    I plugged it into mains last night hoping this would charge the battery up but to no avail, the lights this morning came on for half a second and went off again.

    Is this down to the leisure battery possibly being faulty or would there be another problem??

    I’d be very grateful for any advice or hints as to what the problem could be.

    Many thanks
     
  2. wizzer59

    wizzer59 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    2,685
    Location:
    Englishman in Mid Wales
    Hi and welcome to fun:Smile:, I'm no good to you I'm afraid but I'm sure someone will be along soon to help you out:thumb:
     
  3. alsmith

    alsmith Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oxford
    cheers wizzer
     
  4. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,447
    Likes Received:
    25,133
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    The horse's mouth.....

    http://www.zig-electronics.co.uk/products.htm

    Can you find working 240V inside ?

    Can you find the charger, are there any switches you could have knocked off ?


     
  5. alsmith

    alsmith Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oxford
    hi hilldweller
    ive emailed the zig company the same question but had no reply.

    the 240v is working inside the van

    ive checked all the internal fuses and they are fine,also the rcd switches are all on.

    been told it could be the leisure battery braking down inside
     
  6. lionart8085

    lionart8085 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wales
    leisure battery help?

    hi, i had a simular problem and i found that there was a weak earth going to and from the zig so i uninstalled it and pluged it into my house, it just blew so i bought a zig cf9b and it was a far more better unit. hope this helps!
     
  7. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    yorkshire
    this cold spell could have seen off many batteries that were close to the end of their life.
    i would disconnect the hook up then the leisure battery and check it with a multi-meter to find out.

    if its below 12 volts its flat and if it has been that way through a frost or 2 then probably wont recover depending on its age and will need replacing.
     
  8. stcyr

    stcyr Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,668
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    Location:
    Normandie
    :welcomefunster:
     
  9. alsmith

    alsmith Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oxford
    many thanks for the info.

    would it be worth connecting another battery instead of the leisure battery just to see if that solves the problem before i go and and buy another
     
  10. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,561
    Likes Received:
    25,726
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    Yes...

    JJ :Cool:

    but I suspect it is the battery... Do you have a multimeter? It is a very useful bit of kit...
     
  11. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    welcome to the forum

    JJ is right.. get yourself a multimeter.. not expensive will allow you to check the mains as well as the battery side of things... Maplins sell them at reasonable prices.

    But you could put a normal 12v battery in to test and see if the power comes back. The old Zig units often failed.. lots of better units now available even from Zig.

    Regards

    Bob, Sue and Ezzie the St Bernard.
     
  12. upmarkethippy

    upmarkethippy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Hull
    zig unit

    Not sure which unit we have and if it is the same as yours, but, We had a power surge a few years back and this blew the internal fuse on the circuit board inside the zig unit.

    Opened the unit and changed the fuse, unfortunately the surge had got past the origanal fuse and the unit just fizzed and smoked.

    I hope for you it is the battery, but if it turns out to be the zig unit, we just fited a 4 stage battery charger and disconected the 12 volt side of the zig unit.


    Good luck, oh and Welcome to fun.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. hdvrod

    hdvrod Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    739
    Location:
    devon
    I am experiencing the same problem,have just taken delivery of new 110 leisure battery,am awaiting arrival of voltmeter so I can test the zig before I go any further,if the zig is found to be faulty can I replace the zig witha 4 phase battery charger as the cheapest replacement zig I can find is £132,and a good quality battery charger is way cheaper.
     
  14. alsmith

    alsmith Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oxford
    hi all

    many thanks for the replies,we think we have sorted out the problem.a friend of mine has had a look at the relay's around the leisure battery,one of the connectors had come off and the relay itself was all rusted and bits fell of it inside.

    the knackered one was a 24v 20amp one....can we replace with a 12v 30amp or would it better all round to replace with 24v 20 amp one?
     
Loading...

Share This Page