LAN Connection

Discussion in 'Computers' started by ShiftZZ, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19,821
    Likes Received:
    35,897
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Right funsters.

    LAN access.

    I can plug into the LAN in the hotel, I can see traffic going through the firewall.
    I can ping using DOS cmd.

    But I cat connect to the web, any suggestions?

    ShiftZZ
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    have you entered the hotels lan password/code ?
     
  3. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19,821
    Likes Received:
    35,897
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ta John


    The conenction fails, I cant even get that far

    :cry:
     
  4. acting_strange

    acting_strange

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    2,568
    Location:
    North Hykeham
    do you have zone alarm or anything like it??

    Are you running vista??
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    could be a faulty lan access point.

    ask the hotel reception to check.

    if they dont do anything, sue 'em....even free web access is a service not delivered and in your contract . :Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  6. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    34,540
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Is the hotel LAN actually connected to the web? Has their router gone down without them noticing?

    We were once on a CC site and the router failed overnight so the web wasn't accessible until the wardens came in duty and noticed that the router needed rebooting.

    Graham
     
  7. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi
    check your LAN connection properties to make sure that you are obtaining IP and DNS server addresses automatically, not fixed.
     
  8. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19,821
    Likes Received:
    35,897
    Location:
    Leicestershire

    Attached Files:

  9. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19,821
    Likes Received:
    35,897
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Alreay set to auto

    ShiftZZ
     
  10. acting_strange

    acting_strange

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    2,568
    Location:
    North Hykeham
  11. 1_man_and_his_dob(lo)

    1_man_and_his_dob(lo) Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,253
    Likes Received:
    1,516
    Location:
    Mid. Glamorgan, S. Wales
    If it works fine via mobile, but not via wi-fi, check Internet Explorer->Tools->Internet Option->Connections and make sure it's not trying to use a non-existent proxy server because it thinks it's on a LAN.
     
  12. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Try Start/run/cmd to dos.

    Type in ipconfig /flushdns or if this doesnt work

    Load/install another browser

    Regards Steve
     

Share This Page