Jump starting 05 ducato

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by estcres, Dec 19, 2009.

  1. estcres

    estcres Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    766
    Location:
    Sunny Bournemouth
    I went to the vehicle this morning to give it a run as it has been lying idle for about 3 weeks, only to find the battery had gone flat and needs recharging.

    Had great difficulty in connecting the jump leads as the + terminal seems to be set a long way under the bonnet, eventually the jump lead clip broke so had to give up on that idea.

    If I disconnect the battery to bring home to put on a charger will I have to re-programme my radio (factory fitted) and the vehicles immobilliser system etc?.

    I cannot recharge the battery on site as there is no mains power.
     
  2. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Do you have another battery that you can temporarily substitute for the original?

    You don't mention how old the battery is?

    If it's older than 3 years it might be a good idea to replace it as it'll surely fail in the next year or so..
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2009
  3. estcres

    estcres Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    766
    Location:
    Sunny Bournemouth
    I have another battery but would still have to disconnect the existing one to connect up the new one and that is the problem, would I loose all my stored information?.
     
  4. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Not if you link across it with wires first + to+ and - to -....Beware DO NOT TRY TO START OR PULL ANY CURRENT FROM THE BATTERY WHILE LINKED LIKE THIS.

    This is pure backup voltage only.

    Charge the battery....refit....disconnect the backup battery being VERY careful not to short any wire out.

    I guess...If the battery is original fit item....I'd be looking to replace it for next season...for peace of mind.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2009
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    a much simplified and safer version is to make a lead with a fag lighter plug on each end to plug into both your car and van sockets (with the van ignition on if it needs it on to be live).
    this will backfeed the electrics on the van.
    simply remove the flat battery and fit the charged one.

    the heater glow plugs may draw some power but only for a few seconds which wont hurt the wires.

    this way theres no chance of a wire getting dislodged when trying to connect/disconnect to the + battery post.

    make doubley sure the live, +, pos wire doesnt contact any other parts....slip a plastic bag over it when its taken off the battery and remove the socket to socket link before you try to start the van.

    the immobiliser shouldnt need resetting but the radio probably will if the battery to battery connection is lost.

    i presume you dont have the radio code ?
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2009
  6. clarify

    clarify Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi When working at ford refurbishment place batteries always flat and some models had terminals you could not reach but they had connection on engine itself not on terminal .Dont know if yours has the same . Ray
     
  7. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    There lies the problem John....

    If the ignition NEEDS to be switched on...there will be some reasonable current flowing.In the case of Glow Plugs this could be substantial current and would require reasonably thick wires to accomodate this Surge.

    I work on the assumption the ignition does not need to be switched on and therefore there only needs to be a backup voltage to feed to those items mentioned.

    I understand the concern regarding the possible accidental disconnection or short circuit to the chassis but I assumed the Writer of this thread already appreciated this and would ensure the terminals were sufficiently insulated to prevent this.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2009
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    agreed steve but ducato pos battery teminals are notoriously hard to get to and they are posts not blades so to connect a wire, and ensure it stays there, is difficult to say the least.
    providing nothing is turned on, lights etc, the only real power drain will be the heater plugs and for 20 seconds the wires should cope.
    could always pull the plug relay. its only sat on the bulkhead.

    of course, with a radio code it wouldnt matter anyway.
     
  9. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    True....

    I guess the question would be...

    Is it time to replace the Battery?

    I'm beginning to get the feeling this is the original item....

    05 to 09....? I don't expect any more than 4 years max out of my batteries.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2009
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    flat in 3 weeks doesnt sound good.
    probably will need replacing soon.
     
  11. estcres

    estcres Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    766
    Location:
    Sunny Bournemouth
    I agree, the battery may need replacing which means disconnecting the existing one and connecting the new one. which refers back to my origonal question, will I loose my various codes etc?
     
  12. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    only the radio code.
    the immobiliser will be ok.

    if you have the vehicle handbook it gives more detail
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2009
  13. estcres

    estcres Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    766
    Location:
    Sunny Bournemouth
    Damn it, that means SWMBO will get involved as she WILL want to control the operation now.
     
  14. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    has the radio got a removable front or is it standard fit.

    removable fronts/head dont usually have a code.
     
  15. lookback

    lookback Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Mareham le fen, Lincs
    I had the vehicle battery on my 2004 Fiat Ducato replaced 3 months ago. I agree that it is a bit of a bugger to get to so, I went to my nearest tyre/battery shop and asked them to replace it (no additional charge!) with a like for like vehicle battery.

    The MH has an imobiliser and a radio with a removable face plate. The exchange of the batteries went quite painlessly and the MH started first time and the radio worked.

    Suggest you check to see if your radio has a security code.

    Ian
     
  16. derekfaeberwick

    derekfaeberwick Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Berwick


    Sorry, disagree, removable radio will have a memory, not a removable front panel.

    Old tech I know, but I do prefer a wireless to a radio.[​IMG]
     
  17. Beachbum

    Beachbum Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hamburg / Cornwall

    I agree it is difficult to attach the + lead to the battery. Same as my Ducato. It can be done. I have done it several times. Try to get a grip with the edge of the terminal. With a bit of patience you should succeed.:thumb:
     
  18. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    Escres,

    There is away of charging the battery in situ if you have a generator.

    Connect the gen to the electric hook up and select the vehicle battery on the 12v control panel in the van. The on board charger will then charge the vehicle battery. A couple of hours may give enough to start.

    Lunarman
     
  19. nicklb

    nicklb Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bolton
    Three weeks to flat is not good at all, try your recovery they will help, also it might be worth looking at what has drained it so quickly, we have a 05 ducato, just been up to it after six weeks started first time and battery still full, it does not have a alarm just the factory imobilisor and the stereo looses its memory every time it is switched off but it is one with the rev camera and sat nav screen not the original
     
  20. JohnH

    JohnH Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    893
    Location:
    Southport
    I used to work in a motorhome dealers doing the handovers, bit of driving etc. To overcome the problem of connecting to the positive terminal on Sevel made vehicles we used to carry a 14mm nut to screw on the last couple of threads on the terminal. You only need to finger tighten up the nut and it gives enough room to connect crocodile clips onto.
    Hope this helps. I still carry the nut with me in my tool box.
     
Loading...

Share This Page