Is There A Problem With Astra2 Or Is It My Caro?

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by GAVLAD, Jun 20, 2015.

  1. GAVLAD

    GAVLAD Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    610
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Anyone got issues trying to find Astra 2 on their satellite this aft?
    I've just had it and all the usual TV stations earlier but come to switch on again and satellite can't lock on when doing an automatic search.
    I've tried switching off and taking dish down and also switched off switch on box in wardrobe and it still spins around searching for the satellite when switched back on.
    Area is good and no blockages.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. GAVLAD

    GAVLAD Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    610
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Forget my last post - after a good 5 mins of the fish spinning around, it's finally locked on and I've got a picture!
     
  3. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,578
    Likes Received:
    11,560
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Phew! I thought it might be Aliens. (Memo to self: Think more positively. Negativity gets you into so much trouble.) :)

    I tried my manual dish last month for the first time in southern Spain but I couldn't find any satellites. The problem, as I discovered more by chance was I wasn't elevating it far enough. In the UK it normally needs to point up around 22° but in Spain I assumed it would only need to be a few degrees higher. Not so, it needed to be up at around 40° and I now understand why. As you go south one degree of latitude the sun rise one degree (to within a gnat's) but a satellite is much closer so they rise several degrees for every degree you move south.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    There are three Astra 2 satellites currently in usen (2e, 2f and 2g), using about 100 plus frequencies / transponders
    it would be very unusual for all three satellites and all transponders to fail at the same time.
    It would probably take a very large comet / meteor or alien space ship (independance day???) to be able to wipe them out all at once...and if that was the case then I doubt not getting TV would not really be the main concern...!!!
     
    • Like Like x 4
Loading...

Share This Page