Is the site running a little slow?

Discussion in 'Website Help' started by Debs, Dec 15, 2014.

  1. Debs

    Debs Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,072
    Likes Received:
    14,266
    Location:
    Looking for the sunny side of the street
    Or is it me, I'm getting a bit of a drag with the keys too and it's making me type in slow motion

    Other sites are ok??
     
  2. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,051
    Likes Received:
    7,092
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    OK here Debs .... must be your end!
     
  3. Debs

    Debs Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,072
    Likes Received:
    14,266
    Location:
    Looking for the sunny side of the street
    Thanks - I've just cleared the cache and it now seems to be ok although I seem to have to do this every few days now. Prior to joining mhf I don't think I ever did that so does mhf work differently somehow......
    ....anyhoos I take it that the first thing to try when there seems to be a problem :xThumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,051
    Likes Received:
    7,092
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    The problem can often be caused if there is a scan working in the background or a large update being downloaded.

    Edit .... that would not affect just one site though.
     
  5. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    6,333
    Location:
    doncaster
    I had the same problem a couple of days back, keys strokes taking ages to appear?, at the time all other sites were working ok, as was Word. It all seems fine now.
     
  6. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,455
    Likes Received:
    4,704
    Location:
    Guisborough
    Sometimes when you are replying/posting the software will back-up your reply and this certainly makes it slow on the text input. I had a funny one a couple of days ago when all the adds at the side positioned at the bottom of the screen with the blue header band from the site underneath, all sorts of search boxes and things I had never seen before were open.
    Also sometimes I click post and it doesn't go so if you click again you end up with two appearing when you do refresh.

    Cleared cache and BINGO all was OK, so although I dont know really what it means I will do it again whenever I think things are not behaving themselves.
     
  7. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,278
    Likes Received:
    12,107
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    OK, so how to you 'clear your cache'? if it includes clearing temporary files when I do this I lose stored passwords then get in a right pickle

    Also a pointer on the double posts, I have noticed that when the post is slow to appear, in the top right of the post box there is a group of three boxes that stay till posted, similar when bringing in a photo, sometimes instant sometimes a few seconds delay. If you press reply twice while that symbol is there you will get multiple posts
     
  8. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,455
    Likes Received:
    4,704
    Location:
    Guisborough

    Hi David

    If you are on Safari on a Mac you just go to Safari on the bar at the top and then down to empty cache, if not why not?.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,350
    Likes Received:
    9,614
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    Don't know about other browsers but Firefox is Tools/Options/Advanced and Clear Cache. Tools/Options/Privacy for cookies.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,278
    Likes Received:
    12,107
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    Thanks both

    I am not using a Mac, windows for me, but still not really sure about this cache business, will it clear all passwords? All I can find is clear temporary files, is that the same thing as cache?

    Apologies for my lack of IT understanding

    David
     
  11. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,455
    Likes Received:
    4,704
    Location:
    Guisborough
    Hi David

    If you post what we browser you are using somebody will answer your question I am sure, my guess would be that all your login data will be OK, well it was for me on Safari.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. ABZSteve

    ABZSteve Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    802
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    It was running real slow for me on Sunday using ipad. Appears better now.
     
  13. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    1,637
    Location:
    Salisbury
    I'm finding it a bit slow at the moment I'm using an iPad seem slow to load pages.
     
  14. spitfire

    spitfire Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    857
    Location:
    Correze France
    Has been very slow to load and sometimes you have to try several times. I thought it was the site internet connection but is the same on my mifi.
     
Loading...

Share This Page