Is the age of a tyre only on 1 side?

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Cossieg, May 6, 2016.

  1. Cossieg

    Cossieg Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Yate for the summer!
    just thought I would check the ages of my tyres as i changed 4 last year and I thought I would change the others this year. I can find the age easily on 3 of them but i can't find the date on the 3 others. I contacted Michelin and they said that the age might only be on 1 side of the tyre! Am I being daft or is this daft! The chap i spoke to said to take the wheel off to check! I think i'll have to get a mirror and a torch out!
     
  2. MH 55 FUN

    MH 55 FUN Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    2,936
    Location:
    South West Wales.
    Yes I believe this is the case
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,247
    Likes Received:
    5,043
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Yes normally fitted with it on the inside.
     
  4. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    and the reason it's only on one side of the tyre..

    when the tyre is moulded , the aluminium date label is simply laid into the bottom half of the mould..

    this is a Bag-O-Matic tyre moulding machine in the closed position.
    when it opens, the top half of the mould moves up vertically and back .. so it wouldn't be possible to have a date label in the top half of the mould.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. Cossieg

    Cossieg Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Yate for the summer!
    Thanks Jim, very interesting! So i guess the message is always make sure that the fitters put the tyres on with the date on the outside?

    By the way, the fridge is fixed! Turns out that the guy who fitted the new power PCB last year didn't route the ribbon cable correctly and it pulled,out slightly and hence the error code 14!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    good news.. glad it's sorted..
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page