Internet Use In France

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by sylvester1954, Jun 4, 2015.

  1. sylvester1954

    sylvester1954 Funster

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    North Devon
    Hello, sorry to ask what I am sure has been asked many times before but I am looking for the best way to access the internet when travelling in France. On recent short trips I have paid my phone provider, Vodafone, £3.50 a day to use my home minutes, texts and internet when abroad. Obviously, that works out pricey on a long trip. People have recommended Three, getting a data sim, but I am not clear whether I would need that plus my normal call and text package. Someone also recommended FON as I am a BT Broadband customer. I understand that there are FON WiFi hotspots that I can access if I am with BT Mobile, which I can sign up to for £5 a month, though calls and texts would be expensive when abroad. Do any of you have experience of any of these? I would really welcome any advice. Thank you in advance
     
  2. Bluemooner

    Bluemooner Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    1,665
    Location:
    Ribble Valley
    We just use our mifi with a three pay as you go but make sure you have the add on
     
  3. sdc77

    sdc77 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,481
    Likes Received:
    2,890
    Location:
    East london
    Fon works for sure and I'm sure it's free if you're a BT broadband customer but .. We have 3.. Works well enough in most of the UK and in plenty of places in europe esp france. We use a 4g router and pay 15 per month unlimited.. There are other options though.
     
  4. Bill_OR

    Bill_OR Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    570
    Location:
    Nr Hastings, East Sussex
    If you are a BTInternet customer you should get access to FON wifi hotspots without having to pay anything extra. The trouble is that FON hotspots are few and far between in France!
     
  5. Fragle

    Fragle Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Coventry
    We use the fon network in France. It does work very well but you would need something like the iboost from motor home wifi so as not to have to park on the persons driveway just to get the signal. I can recommend the iboost and service from motor home wifi. We also have a three data sim 12 g for 12 months that works really well and has great coverage.(y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Dorwyn

    Dorwyn Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    somerset
    What add on?
     
  7. Manxcat

    Manxcat Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    121
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Glad you asked because I was wondering about that too.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Dorwyn

    Dorwyn Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    somerset
    Only I had trouble trying to get my mifi on 3 working while I was in France during the last few weeks. Many campsites had free wifi, which was a surprise, so it wasn't too much of a problem.
     
  9. laneside

    laneside Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    5,289
    Location:
    Oradour sur Vayres
    So was I, hope he answers because we are on the tunnel next Thursday or Friday
     
  10. RicknSue

    RicknSue Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Fareham, Hampshire
    We have just returned from France and even though some sites had wifi the reception wasn't brilliant. Our saviour was the iBoost as not only did it magnify the site signal if you are a BT Fon customer there is a partnership with SFR Wifi so you can log on to all those places too! I only had to sign up to expensive Vodafone £3 per day deal once in the two weeks, and that's not bad as had to access internet every day for work reasons. Hope this helps!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Cobweb

    Cobweb

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    350
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    We use Globalgig . We have to sign up for 3months minimum 2 gb at £48 a month . The SIM card is free for our cellular ipad or iPhone .
    This works well for us because we spend a lot of time in Europe and the USA and have been able to be online almost every day during our trips . If anyone knows a better cheaper way let us know .
     
  12. normanandsue

    normanandsue Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    3,864
    Location:
    Dunfermline - Scotland
    We use Macdonalds costs nothing ut a cup of coffee
     
    • Like Like x 3
  13. sdc77

    sdc77 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,481
    Likes Received:
    2,890
    Location:
    East london
    ... £15 per month all you can eat data.. 4g (or 3g) with Three..
    Our router is on permanently..
     
  14. RicknSue

    RicknSue Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Fareham, Hampshire
    Yes but that does entail going to Macdonalds. We managed to avoid the dreaded burger chain for most of our recent french trip
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. RicknSue

    RicknSue Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Fareham, Hampshire
    The 3 option is our next step once we can either get one of our mobile phones unlocked and finish their contracts, or buy the Mifi from the iBoost Motorhome company
     
  16. emjaiuk

    emjaiuk Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    71
    First, you don't have to pay any more with FON, it comes automatically with BT ADSL. You do have to make sure you are 'opted in' though. The FON log in is the same as your master BT login, including the @btinternet(or whatever)dot com. You can check if you are opted in somewhere on the FON website or on your BT account page. There have been the odd problem logging in that has been solved by opting out and opting back in on the BT web site. HOWEVER, as a previous poster has said, you really need a WiFi booster to get the best out of FON, and dramatically improve campsite WiFi. Again, as has already has been said the vast majority of people will recommend

    http://www.motorhomewifi.com/

    as a supplier. Good equipment and very, very good service and help. One tip, when you find the french login page, SFR FON only, not other SFR locations, if you search carefully you will see a small Union Jack which will take you to the English language page. Don'y forget with FON you are (legally) using part of somebodies home setup, so if you are parked up and there's not a building in site it's probably not worth looking. Also it's not guaranteed. I've been on an aire surrounded by houses. flat and offices and found every ISP known to man, but no SFR-FON!

    With regard to 3, if you purchase a data sim, we use 1gig/1 month for about £10, AFAIK and in my experience, you have to activate it in the UK before you go. This is merely logging in to the web using the sim. I've no experience of 3 phone cards, only data. Between our WiFi booster and a 3 data sim in a WiFi modem, we are rarely without internet. We've found the 3 sim usually works whilst driving which can be useful.


    Best of luck


    Malcolm
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. RicknSue

    RicknSue Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Fareham, Hampshire
    Yes but that does entail going to Macdonalds. We managed to avoid the dreaded burger chain for most of our recent French trip apart from one occasion when we sat in the car park in the van and used the iBoost. I did eventually venture in for some coffees which proved to be a bit of a disaster. You now have to order your food and beverages using a giant touch screen. I ended up with something that I hadn't really expected, was luke warm and tasted of cardboard.. We should have made our own coffee. Wifi was brilliant though.
     
  18. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Likes Received:
    3,409
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    Don't think that is compulsory, it's been a few months since I last used McD but I usually just order at the counter, could be a problem at busy times but they are best avoided anyway........French lunchtime 11.45 until 13.00........manic, don't get between a Frenchman(person!) and their lunch:)

    I now use either a French Orange PAYG sim or a UK 3 PAYG sim but in the past I have often used McD's wifi inside without purchasing anything, don't think the staff would care.
     
  19. Gcs

    Gcs Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Dorset
    just came back from a 10 day trip in the Alps. 3 mifi worked pretty good all the way down through France, but then wouldn't work when we got on site, which was pretty remote!
    Eventually worked out to search for networks manually, then select one that had 3G, worked perfectly after that.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Likes Received:
    3,409
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    I use a huawei mifi and have not worked out how to search for networks manually, if yours is the same........give us a clue:)........please!
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page