Igniter failure.

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by PhilandMena, Aug 23, 2015.

  1. PhilandMena

    PhilandMena Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    3,612
    Location:
    Corby, Northants
    Today, whist the Thetford oven was on and going well, I attempted to lite a second gas ring on my hob (first also going well) when Everthing cut out, gas on oven and hob! On attempting to relight both oven and hob none of the igniters would work and I had to use a hand held igniter to lite both oven and hob which stayed alight. My initial assumption was that it must be a fuse, covering thermostats and igniters on both oven and hob but could not find a blown fuse on my control panel and wonder if there could be one somewhere else. Any ideas anybody!
    I can get the oven out and have a look at it but think this would be a stupid place to put a fuse.
    Getting under the hob is not possible as far as I can see, as thee are stir age cupboards here.
    It's not a show stopper but I would like to fix it if possible.
     
  2. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,470
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    You really need to give some details of your electrics to give anyone half a chance
     
  3. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,196
    Likes Received:
    9,576
    Location:
    Dorset
    the flame failure cut out on oven and hob are separate normally so that indicates a gas flow issue like a failing regulator. the igniter not firing may be a blown fuse
    any details on the model of oven would help too
     
  4. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,196
    Likes Received:
    9,576
    Location:
    Dorset
    the flame failure cut out on oven and hob are separate normally so that indicates a gas flow issue like a failing regulator. the igniter not firing may be a blown fuse
    any details on the model of oven would help too
     
  5. PhilandMena

    PhilandMena Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    3,612
    Location:
    Corby, Northants
    Ok! (I'm not a sparkie). The motorhome is a 4. 1/2 year old Autotrail Excel with the Sargent EC500 P.S.U. The oven is a Thetford sog10955 oven and grill with 12 volt ign. The hob is a 3 burner Thetford with 12 volt ign. The gas, on both the oven and hob including the oven fan stopped when I attempted to ignite a second burner on the hob. None of the igniters and oven fan work now although lighting them wit h a hand held igniter works.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. bobandjanie

    bobandjanie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4,405
    Likes Received:
    2,493
    Location:
    UK / Spain
    Hi Phil ours is on the same fuse as the electric step and on our van you have to take the front off the charger and you have half a a dozen fuses.
    Had a job to find it the first time. Bob.
     
  7. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,470
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Book says fuse number 13 5amp.
    That would be bottom row last but one

    EDIT SORRY that is EC450

    Fuse number 2 5 amp

    Second on top row

    EDIT test the fuse or swap it anyway, visual doesn't always prove good enough
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,470
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    If the fuse proves to be OK then I suspect a spade connection has come adrift on the appliance or even the earth has dropped off
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. PhilandMena

    PhilandMena Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    3,612
    Location:
    Corby, Northants
    Brilint, many kind thanks will look in the morning as grandchildren in bed at front end blocking access to PSU.
    WI'll confirm tomorrow if successful, although I think my smallest fuse is 10 amp and definitely the EC 500.
     
  10. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,470
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    • Like Like x 1
  11. PhilandMena

    PhilandMena Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    3,612
    Location:
    Corby, Northants
    Thanks, but I do not have an electric step.
     
  12. bobandjanie

    bobandjanie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4,405
    Likes Received:
    2,493
    Location:
    UK / Spain
     
  13. bobandjanie

    bobandjanie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4,405
    Likes Received:
    2,493
    Location:
    UK / Spain
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. PhilandMena

    PhilandMena Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    3,612
    Location:
    Corby, Northants
    Thanks again Andy, this is version 2 and some of it alien to my Excel but the fuses look spot on and I remember the second one being a tan colour, so must be 5 amps. A will check again in morning. Your a diamond.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Derbyshire wanderer

    Derbyshire wanderer Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    672
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    I had the same thing happen earlier this year (ec450) with no ignition to hob or oven. Checked all fuses ok, but still no spark. Reset ec450 from scratch and all ok again.
    May be worth a try.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. PhilandMena

    PhilandMena Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    3,612
    Location:
    Corby, Northants
    Thanks. How did you reset ec450 (killswitch!)
     
  17. Derbyshire wanderer

    Derbyshire wanderer Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    672
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    image.jpg


    It is the system shutdown switch to the left of the display. Switch off, wait 10 seconds, switch on then switch on control panel above hab door. Good luck.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. PhilandMena

    PhilandMena Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    3,612
    Location:
    Corby, Northants
    Problem sorted! 5amp fuse had blown and now replaced. Thank you one and all, in particular Andy. Now, why did that fuse blow LOL
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page