Help with Javelin Pace 12volt

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by ourcampersbeentrashed, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. ourcampersbeentrashed

    ourcampersbeentrashed Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    7,652
    Likes Received:
    4,284
    Location:
    East London
    Bought hubby a Javelin Pace 12volt sky box for the motorhome so we can use it when wild camping.

    Now it comes with a 3 pin socket plug HELP

    All our 3 pin socket plugs in the motorhome seem to be for use only when hooked up on the mains.

    All our 12volt sockets are cigarette light type plug sockets.

    Is there such a bit that changes a 3 pin prong into a cigarette lighter please. Had a hunt on ebay but havent found anything yet.

    Many thanks
     
  2. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,324
    Likes Received:
    7,579
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    No.. The Javelin is designed to also work off a 12v DC supply.

    http://www.satcure.co.uk/accs/page12.htm

    Scroll down the page and you will see the type of lead you want..
    You can get off ebay etc BUT you need to get the right size DC plug, that's the bit that goes into the receiver, also make sure it is wired up the correct way.. ie +ve as the centre wire BUT check this, its been a long time since I dealt with these receivers..

    The DC plug is 2.5mm !!!

    Here is a lead at Maplins, you could chop off one end and fit a cigarette plug....
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/2.5mm-power-lead-35906
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,495
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    The 3 pin plug is a transformer power supply and the plug on the OTHER end goes into the 12 volt input on the back of the receiver. That little plug is what you are looking for on the end of a 12 volt cigarette socket lead
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,495
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
  5. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    Hi, we have a javalin 12v box which is great.

    a word of caution.... you either need the Javalin actual 12v lead or have a voltage stabalising resistor soldered in the positive line. the box is very sensitive to voltage surge.

    its simple to do if you need PM me and ill find the internet link to get the resistor.. it was 40p.
     
  6. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,495
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    I have a javelin for sale including a white card and remote but no leads
    Collection only best offer.

    Used by previous owner 4 yrs no resistor still fine
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012
Loading...

Share This Page