Help with 3 feels like home in Spain.

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Boringfrog, Jan 16, 2016.

  1. Boringfrog

    Boringfrog Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    447
    I have a contract with 3 unlimited data, was thinking of buying an extra 3 PAYG sim as I'm away for 4 Months, does the data have an expiry date if I register it before leaving the UK?
     
  2. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes Received:
    15,243
    Location:
    notloB
    I think 'at home' abroad only lasts a month?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. mickyc

    mickyc Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    2,013
    Location:
    Spain/Portugal
    As Badknee states, data top ups last a month, but you can top up again online.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    I have a 3 contract and been away for well over a month. Am using it to send this. If you move to a none at home country then come back it starts over again.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. mustaphapint

    mustaphapint Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Worcestershire and Brittany
    I have just taken out a mobile broadband deal with 3. They quoted me a maximum of 2 months exclusive use abroad in any rolling 12 months. if you exceed this they MAY prevent your "feel at home" access. I've just checked their T&Cs on their website and it actually says 3 months.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. webby1

    webby1 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Just coming up to our 2 month usage of 3 feel at home.We have a monthly contract and I must say it's a much better signal and of course a lot cheaper than the PAYG we had previously.

    Has anyone been cut of exactly after 2 months (or is it 3 months)................do you get any warning.
    Or if you keep a low profile can you get longer (anyone?)

    We had a break using campsite video and the Terms do say "complete" months.............but I think that means actually using them in a non FAH destination or back in UK.
     
  7. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Likes Received:
    6,034
    Location:
    Sarth London
    Must say the shine has come off the Three deal with new restrictions dont... feel that at home anymore:) Probably better of picking up a local Sim for long stays:
     
  8. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5,598
    Likes Received:
    9,761
    Location:
    East Sussex
    PAYG sims have different lengths of life depending on which on you choose
    We opted for the 12GB for 12 months, others last for 3 months, and some for only 30 days
    Full details here
    http://store.three.co.uk/view/searc...rTariff=50to99.99&payGPriceForTariff=0to49.99

    Either way, the clock with start ticking the moment you connect to the web

    We've used THREE all across Europe and found the coverage and speed in Spain to be fine for us

    Enjoy your trip!
     
  9. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4,376
    Likes Received:
    7,956
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    Yes me. Twice.
    They cut off the 'roaming' facility. When I rang & asked why as I had no problem paying normal rates they said that they were unable to differentiate between "feel at home " & normal. So once you are cut of it will not roam again until 12 months have passed . That's what they told me, although according to them it will work as soon as back in UK.
    No they don't normally cut off afte exactly 2 months & that is the problem. First time they didn't cut mine off until I returned to the Uk , had topped up 3 times & used it for 6 weeks , then they cut it off.:mad: Took 5 weeks to sort that out. THis time it got cut off after various warnings after 5 months & the day after it was topped up.
    It would appear that the system doesn't automatically cut off & even with the phone on but unused nothing happens until one day you use it & something in the system remembers it should have been cut off & does so. Even though it is months down the line.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. webby1

    webby1 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Thanks for that info Gus...........................we are on a monthly data sim only contract, so I worry if they cut off the FAH then I could go onto their "normal" data rates which I think are costed in the megabytes for megabucks. We had a PAYG sim last time so they could not take any more.
    Only want it to last till June then get another contract when back in UK (because of course these months will count for 12 months and into next years trip)
    But I did use a 3 Sim in a 2G phone and it is not supposed to work. But, so that you can make emergency calls they contract out the 2g connection to Orange so were paying them for all the calls I made for about 9 months until the computer suddenly said no and they cut me off.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. mustaphapint

    mustaphapint Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Worcestershire and Brittany
    We have a monthly contract with a 3 mifi. £21 for 20GB per month. I hadn't realised that there is a limit of 12GB per month when abroad. It worked fine for the first 3 weeks. Download speeds were more than adequate in France and Spain and we have had a full 3G signal almost wherever we've been. We hit the 12GB limit after 3 weeks (due to using it for work and BBC iPlayer downloads) and all we could get then was a 3 mobile page telling us we'd reached our limit. A week later when the new month started it started working again. We are due home just about the time we reach the end of our second month so we'll possibly not find out if it gets cut off after that. I may cancel this contract and start a new one.
     
  12. webby1

    webby1 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Thanks for that info..............our contract is £20 for 15GB..............................I did not realise that there is a limit of 12GB abroad and have not seen it in any terms...........................we are close to it now so we'll see what happens.
    It seems a good idea to get a new contract and a fresh 12 months.
     
  13. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,845
    Likes Received:
    76,159
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    We've used ours for over three months. But in places its just too slow for anything but very casual non urgent use. Even with 5 bar 3G signals, the carrier seems to give you the barest minimum of bandwidth.
     
Loading...

Share This Page