Help! Fused 12v socket

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Mags52, Sep 27, 2011.

  1. Mags52

    Mags52 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Location:
    Bathgate West Lothian
    Hi Folks
    Oh Help!!!
    The 12v socket for the TV has fused and I'm trying to replace the fuse. The instructions for the MH are in German and I can't work out which fuse it is. I'd take them out one at a time but they're under the body and it involves a level of contortionism I don't have.
    Any idea what the German for 12v socket is?
    It's a Geist touring 75 if that's any help.
    Thanks
    Mags
     
  2. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    If you can't get to the fuses, how do you know that a fuse has actually blown?
     
  3. welsh winger

    welsh winger Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Sunny Swansea
  4. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    Socket = Steckdose
     
  5. Mags52

    Mags52 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Location:
    Bathgate West Lothian
    Wivvy's Dad - I know it isn't working when it was just a short time ago so I assume it's the fuse.
    Thanks for the translations folks.
    I'm going under into the belly of the best ... :RollEyes:
     
  6. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    Assume makes an ASS out of U and ME
     
  7. Mags52

    Mags52 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Location:
    Bathgate West Lothian
    Well I may have been making an ass of myself but it worked. TV now works - the fuse was bxxxggered.
    Having said that it was a hell of an awkward position to get into. Hope neighbours weren't looking out of the window. :Eeek:
     
  8. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    Well done, that wasn't so bad was it?

    Why did the fuse blow?
    Will it do it again?

    Do not ASSUME the problem is fixed.............:Eek!:
     
  9. Mags52

    Mags52 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Location:
    Bathgate West Lothian
    I overused an inverter ... 150w. My own fault so I guess I deserve the hanging upside down trying to see through the wrong bit of my varifocals with my bum hanging out the door. Really not a pretty sight.:Blush:
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,966
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    what was the fuse size ?

    the inverter may be a 150watt continuous/300watt peak jobby so should be on a 25/30amp fuse.
    if its 150watt peak it should be on a 15amp fuse.

    150watts divided by 12v = 12.5amps ....15amp fuse


    why they stick these on a 10amp fag lighter socket beats me :Doh:


    you do need to take care with 12v 5amp fused fag lighter type plugs.....i had two melt at Malvern, (one melted the plastic socket as well) both running TV's (one lounge and one bedroom) and both TV's rated at less than 3amps each.
    the fuses didn't blow.
    I've since upgraded to Hella/DIN sockets/plugs, rated and fused at 10amps each
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Mags52

    Mags52 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Location:
    Bathgate West Lothian
    Thanks Pappa John,
    It was a 10a fuse. Is it ok to put a bigger fuse in then or will that just make it melt?
    I was thinking that I shouldn't use the inverter anymore which would be a shame.
     
  12. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,966
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Not really advisable as the wiring will be rated at 10amps...the fuse protects the wiring, not what's plugged in.

    so, anything drawing more than 10amps will overload the wiring, possible melting it and causing a fire, if a larger fuse is used.

    the fag lighter wiring on my RV is, like most things American, much heavier than need be and the fuse is probably under-rated at 15amps.

    you should be OK using the inverter as it is but be careful what you plug in.
    generally anything plugged in with a motor or transformer in it will draw a high current at start-up and drop to a steady lower current once started.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page