Hard wired dash cam

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Grahmes, Oct 9, 2016.

  1. Grahmes

    Grahmes Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Devizes
    hi, has anybody hard-wired a dash am to a M/H.
    In addition, I can only find dash cams that only fit to the windscreen. I don't want to have to move it to close the blinds. Cheers all. Happy Sunday
     
  2. GeriatricWanderer

    GeriatricWanderer Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Soon to be bimbling down toward the Costa del Sol.
    Just in the process of hard wiring mine in. Latest car has a power interior mirror so I'm hooking into that.
    Just waiting for the new screen mount to arrive and then job done. No more wires trailing across/around/in/under/through the instrument panel. :)
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  3. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,775
    Likes Received:
    8,020
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. Grahmes

    Grahmes Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Devizes
    Yes, that's good - I have a screen that fits over the rear view mirror with the reversing camera on it-looks good thou.
    Just had a look at the blackvue ones - they seem to have it sorted pretty well
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  5. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,958
    Likes Received:
    23,796
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    I hard wired mine and attached it to the mirror with a simple ally bracket.. Nothing clever at all
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  6. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    3,157
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Mine is on a small black CCTV camera bracket on dashboard at the bottom of the screen. It's set back to clear the blinds and the (permanent) wiring runs inside the screen heater trunking. It's a Hymer A class so the camera is well out of the drivers line of sight.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,389
    Likes Received:
    18,078
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Check the voltage at the mirror first.
    If the vehicle has a canbus system the voltage CAN be well below 12volts.
     
  8. GeriatricWanderer

    GeriatricWanderer Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Soon to be bimbling down toward the Costa del Sol.
    Thanks, have done, it's 12v :)
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    3,157
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    It shouldn't be. CANBUS should switch the supply to the mirror & the bus itself won't be anywhere near it.
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,389
    Likes Received:
    18,078
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    That's what I would expect yet the mirror voltage on my car is 8v.
    I had to run above the headlining and down inside the door pillar trim to the cig lighter supply.
     
  11. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,126
    Likes Received:
    3,541
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Mine is on a small cctv bracket on the underside of the drop down bed so is behind the blinds.
    There is sill clearance for it when the bed is lowered.
     
  12. Rob Turner

    Rob Turner Funster

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Wem Shropshire
    IMG_1257.JPG My Blackvue is mounted at the bottom of the screen and is fine tbh, it misses the blinds.
    Not hard wired yet but will be shortly, straight to the leisure battery.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. StitchesnFluff

    StitchesnFluff Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,278
    Likes Received:
    548
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Hi tonyidle, would be good to see a pic of your setup
    Thanks
     
  14. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    3,157
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Hmm :).
     
  15. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    3,157
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Here it is:

    Studio_20161010_102603.jpg
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. mike mcglynn

    mike mcglynn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    6,790
    Location:
    St. Helens MERSEYSIDE
    I had an MOT on my car today and didn't take the dashcam off the windscreen and got 2 written advisories to move it prior to test so be warned .
     
  17. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,349
    Likes Received:
    34,954
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    My notes Here show how I mounted two dash cams in the van so that they do not obstruct the driver's view so no MOT issues.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  18. Grahmes

    Grahmes Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Devizes
    Im the end, I have bought a thinkware f750 bought from the RAC shop and professionally hard-wired.
    In sits at the bottom of the screen and fits between the windscreen and the blinds.
    Very similar to the blackvue dash cams.

    Thanks all for thoughts and help
     
  19. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,998
    Likes Received:
    12,417
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    IMG_0328.JPG Some of the units have voltage stabilisers and or fuses in the plug, so removing the plug isn't always a good idea. It also means that moving it to use in another vehicle is more hassle

    However, it's simple to mount a socket under the dash and plug the camera into it. That way the wire can still neatly be lost down between the windscreen and the edge of the dash, but plugged into an additional 12 VDC socket

    Mine is wired to be live when the ignition is on, with the unit having auto shutdown 15 minutes after the ignition is turned off.

    This way it works every time I drive without any human (mine lol) interaction
     
  20. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,898
    Likes Received:
    6,158
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Tony's mount is technically correct as its not on the screen, but an inexperienced MoT tester might incorrectly see it as being in the drivers view

    Robs Camera is most certainly a failure, even with the camera removed the sticky mount is in the swept area B and looks bigger than the allowance.
    But if 40mm or under diagonally in zone B swept area you could argue it is a pass and advise
    Eddies solution to connection especially if used with a piggy back fuse is the simplest and safest, anyone contemplating cutting of the plug should tripple check camera volage. and anyone going direct to battery should realise if you forget to switch it off you will flatten your battery forget to switch it on and you might as well not bothered
    G
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page