habitation lights

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Bart, Aug 28, 2016.

  1. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    How easy or hard is it to "Fix" it so that you are able to use the habitation lights with the ignition turned on / engine running.
     
  2. vwalan

    vwalan Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7,594
    Likes Received:
    3,853
    Location:
    roche cornwall
    easy in mine i use gas lights .
    much nicer .
    light , warmth and they help keep mozzies away.
     
    • Funny Funny x 3
  3. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,423
    Likes Received:
    25,078
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Very easy.
     
  4. Roadrunner_644

    Roadrunner_644 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Leicester
    I can only remember doing this on an Autosleeper Trooper VW.

    There was a relay under the bonnet, which had to be unplugged, and a jumper wire put in across 2 of the receptor connections.

    Easy job, and relay was just put back in place when the Vehicle got sold.

    I must have found this via some forum, but can't remember where, when, or which particular terminals to jumper, though I'm pretty sure I would have metered the connection before I did the deed.
     
  5. Tom A

    Tom A Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    323
    Location:
    Thornton Cleveleys
    What van have you got ?
     
  6. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    as per sig ,, its a Fiat 2007
     
  7. Tom A

    Tom A Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    323
    Location:
    Thornton Cleveleys
    We've got a 2004 and all I did was unplug a wire near battery. I think it was white and red but I'll take a look tomorrow and let you know.
     
  8. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Thanks
     
  9. Scattycat

    Scattycat Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Location:
    Mayenne, France
    Easy, buy a French van. Lol
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 2
  10. Tom A

    Tom A Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    323
    Location:
    Thornton Cleveleys
    Hi @Bart
    The wire is red and yellow. It's near the battery on our 2004. I've added a picture if it helps.
    I just pulled the plug apart and now all habitation electrics work when engine is running.
    Only thing that doesn't happen is the step won't go in when I start up.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Funny Funny x 1
  11. Tykatem

    Tykatem Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Got you new engine for your "French van" yet? :whistle2:

    Pete
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Scattycat

    Scattycat Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Location:
    Mayenne, France
    Hah, still waiting for it to be delivered.
    Just hope that when they put it all back together they remember to rewire the relay that allows the habitation lights to work while the engine is running. LOL
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  13. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    @Techno Andy
    Thanks Tom , yours looks different than mine, as my battery is not in the engine bay ,buy below the passengers feet with like 5 thick red wires coming of it.
    Anyone else got a 2007 Fiat based MH and know how to enable the habitation lights when the engine is running > >> ??
     
  14. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,204
    Likes Received:
    2,283
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    It is not the Fiat base that has caused this, it is the way that many (most?) British converters wire their systems. Continental converted vans do not have this problem whether they come from France, Germany or even Slovenia.
     
  15. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes Received:
    15,231
    Location:
    notloB
    When we were having our alarm fitted at Eddies they said it was a pita on our Autocruise so we didn't bother.
     
  16. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    @Techno Andy would you be able to shed any light on how i would get my habitation lights to work while the engine is running , on our 2007 Fiat based Bessacarr E560
    Cheers
     
  17. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,848
    Likes Received:
    14,503
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    No not from afar
     
  18. jockaneezer

    jockaneezer Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,590
    Likes Received:
    3,062
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Seems that there's a Bessacar owners group online, maybe ask on there ?
     
  19. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    NP Andy just asking incase you had did it for someone else and remembered what to do.
    i'll have to google that
     
  20. Langtoftlad

    Langtoftlad Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    3,887
    Location:
    Langtoft, South Lincs
    I'm curious as to why you want or need to have the hab lights on when driving...?
     
Loading...

Share This Page