Generators

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Liz14, Mar 12, 2010.

1. Liz14

Liz14 Read Only Funster

I know this subject has been discussed often but can someone explain to me the difference between a Honda generator cosing several hundred pounds and the generator I can buy for less than £100.00.:Eek!:

2. ips

ips Read Only Funster

One costs over 100
    And one costs under a 100 :Rofl1:

No seriously.... I am no expert however I beleive that apart from the obvious inferior build quality of cheap ones which are almost certainly chinese, I beleive that cheapo ones dont have a voltage stabilizer thingy majig which could damage "some" of your elecrical items due to inconsistent output.

Small print
    The above could of course be totally wrong :thumb:

3. scotjimland

scotjimland Funster Life Member

Depends on what you intend to use it for ..

A cheapo is fine for most power tools, emergency lighting etc

If for your van look for one with Inverter technology, otherwise you could blow the electronics on your van charger ..

4. Diabalo

Diabalo Funster

The Kippor is a cloned Honda from China. I have the yellow peril and it runs everything on my van icluding LCD TV and laptop

5. pappajohn

pappajohn Funster Life Member

IPS is right....

a cheap genny will be of an inferior quality and the voltage wont be stable and fluctuates with engine speed. could be 200v one minute and 270v the next until the engine warms up thoroughly.
    plug in something sensitive like a laptop and chances are you'll be looking for a new laptop.

honda's and kipors use invertor technology meaning the genny produces 12v and the circuitry converts this 12v to a very stable 230v...hence the big difference in price.

very expensive honda's are superior in build quality than kipors (never thought i'd say that :Doh:) but they both work the same way....stable invertor technology.

6. JeanLuc

JeanLuc Funster