Generator II ?

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by wizzer59, Feb 4, 2012.

  1. wizzer59

    wizzer59 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    2,685
    Location:
    Englishman in Mid Wales
    Just purely out of interest what size generator would I need to run my pretty normal 3 bed house???:thumb:
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,957
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    depends what you intend running simultaneously but to run everything comfortably.......main incoming fuse will probably be a 60amp to 80amp jobby....15kw to 18.5kw
     
  3. wizzer59

    wizzer59 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    2,685
    Location:
    Englishman in Mid Wales
    blimy that much, is Kw same as Kva?:Blush:
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,957
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    KVa is generally slightly less than KW.

    my gennie is a 2.6KVa and is 2.2KW output.

    you probably wouldnt need as much as 18kw unless you ran every appiance at the same time.
    probably a 5 or 6KW would do it but consider a modern electric shower, probably rated at 10.5kw
     
  5. wizzer59

    wizzer59 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    2,685
    Location:
    Englishman in Mid Wales

    Ah I see, I think if I didn't have my wife in tow I could manage with less but:RollEyes: well you know:Wink:
     
  6. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,248
    Likes Received:
    5,199
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    I have a 2.5kva gennie I bought back in the coal miners strike period, runs lights, central heating, fridge and tvs.

    Gas stove kettle for tea and gas heating. Used it many times especially when we were on overhead lines

    If leccy fails, pull company fuse out and just plug genny into 13amp socket in garage

    Peter
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page