Gas it Filter

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Bart, Jul 5, 2016.

  1. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Should i include an inline Filter in my Gas it instalation.
    Do you get much dirt etc from gas with a refillable system ?
    Just trying to justify the extra £40+
     
  2. Zigisla

    Zigisla Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,289
    Likes Received:
    1,478
    Location:
    Fareham, Hants
    Only from reading some threads about it and I emphasise no experience, but abroad seems to have a few snags because of the mixture of propane and butane, but someone also stated they have filters fitted, but have never had any debris at all - only think it was @Techno ? Gaslow have internal filters in the bottles and this was why I went for these and not Gas It, but £40 gives you piece of mind, but remember to inspect and clean and or replace. Just more routines to remember and carry out.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Location:
    Salisbury
    We have a gas it system without filters not had a problem.(y)
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    what sort of money is a new regulator ,, & do regulators not have filters in them ? , as id be worried about a small bit of dirt getting into an appliance then it costing a fortune to get rectified.
     
  5. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    @Speve Alan have you filled up in europe much or just the UK ?
     
  6. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3,283
    Likes Received:
    3,730
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    we had a fridge jet blocked and a propex pack up a few months after we had a underslung tank fitted it may have been coincidence but i would have the filter
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  7. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Yes we have just spent three months over there filled up a couple of times and had Hab check done last month all ok and we used all the gas appliances including heating.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    @Speve Thanks Alan

    I think filter it is then.
    I'd kick myself i think if something went poop :cry:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Location:
    Salisbury
    GAS IT Direct Gas In Filters © ( D.G.I. ©) - (GI-FA-015)
    [​IMG]
    @Bart Just found this on gas it website fits your adaptors
     
  10. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    15,203
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Yes when I replaced my old tank I stripped the filter and the element was clean as a whistle. I don't have a filter now.
    I did fit one initially but have since moved the regulator to the gas locker and piped straight off the tank in 10mm
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    @Speve & @Techno thanks guys :)
    So just to make sure this is right
    So this filter will screw directly onto the outlet valve of the tank
    http://www.gasit.co.uk/gas-it-direct-gas-in-filters-d-g-i.html#

    Then this hose will connect it and my regulator together ( i will remove the existing orange hose and connect the new black hose to the top of the regulator )
    http://www.gasit.co.uk/gas-it-motor...accessories/0-5mtr-21-8lh-to-w20-pigtail.html
    and a pic of my regulator below

    Does that look like it will all screw together corectly ?
     

    Attached Files:

    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    10,604
    Likes Received:
    12,019
    Location:
    E Yorks
    We've had a refillable gas cylinder system since 2009, putting in 350 litres, mainly abroad and have never ever had any problems, however we did fit the stainless steel hoses rather than the rubber/composite ones.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Location:
    Salisbury
    @Bart the adaptor that I linked was one that screws to your filling adaptors so that you filter as you fill your tanks, you don't need to change pipe work just screw it to your fill adaptor or fill point.
     
  14. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ahh i see :)
    Thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page