gas fridge

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by 1948, May 28, 2010.

  1. 1948

    1948 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    surrey
    can anyone tells me if my fridge is working properly when running on GAS, on EHU it is in full cold temp (according to the fridge thromometer) if i switch it to gas it will take a long time to reach the right temp 24hrs from 12C and during the recent hot days temp will fall to 7/8C during the day and went back to working temp between 4c/0c overnight It is an electrolux 3way fridge, Thanks for reading
     
  2. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,478
    Likes Received:
    5,520
    Location:
    Near Mold North Wales
    I've found my fridge (on gas) is too efficient - it froze my mushrooms into solid ones! I have to turn it down to a lower temperature setting than when on EHU.


    Phil
     
  3. vicdicdoc

    vicdicdoc Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Wales
    On gas, the fridge [should] reach its potential longer than on mains-hookup, on 12v whilst travelling it will just about keep things frozen . . sounds to me like your fridge is working ok but if you want to 'assist' it during the hot weather you could consider fitting a 12v computer type fan either fitted below [to blow] or above the condensing unit [to suck] the hot air away from the cooling tubes & vanes faster
     
  4. 1948

    1948 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    surrey
    what made is your fridge does it mean mine is not working correctly (on maximum all the time)
     
  5. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,478
    Likes Received:
    5,520
    Location:
    Near Mold North Wales
    My fridge is a Dometic RM7270.

    If I have the fridge on gas running on maximum - it freezes items which are not in the freezer compartment but close to the cooling fins. Therefore, I have to run at less than 1/2 on the thermostat dial when on gas.

    If you have to run at maximum on gas I'd be inclined to think it wasn't working as efficiently as it should. Please note I'm not a fridge engineer and could be talking rubbish.

    Regards

    Phil
     
Loading...

Share This Page