Garmin sat nav entering lat/longditude

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by golly, Nov 9, 2013.

  1. golly

    golly Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    1,978
    Location:
    Co Durham
    Does anyone know if its possible to enter Latitude & Longitude in Garmin Sat Nav ? I can only find post code or address to use as destination.

    thanks John
     
  2. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8,490
    Likes Received:
    12,684
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Depends which model, I have three Garmin navs, a Nuvi 865 a Nuvi 2475 and an old Streetpilot 2610 all will accept co ordinates :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2013
  3. MikeandCarolyn

    MikeandCarolyn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Location:
    Worle,North Somerset
    on 'where to' screen,look for 'co-ordinates'
     
  4. golly

    golly Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    1,978
    Location:
    Co Durham
    Mine is a nuvi 2405, cant find anywhere in the menu to let me input lat/long
     
  5. golly

    golly Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    1,978
    Location:
    Co Durham
    Nope not there
     
  6. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8,490
    Likes Received:
    12,684
    Location:
    Norfolk
    On the 2610 there is a convoluted way to do it.
    If you have no luck I will dig it out tomorrow as I have not used it for years and let you know as it may be similar.
     
  7. orleander

    orleander Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TF10 8EP
    Hi,

    From http://static.garmincdn.com/pumac/nuvi_2405_2505_series_OM.pdf

    Finding a Location Using Coordinates
    You can find a location using latitude and longitude coordinates. This method can be helpful when geocaching.
    1 Select Where To? > Categories > Coordinates.
    2 If necessary, select  > Format, select the correct coordinate format for the type of map you are using, and select Save.
    3 Select the latitude coordinate.
    4 Enter the new coordinate, and select Done.
    5 Select the longitude coordinate.
    6 Enter the new coordinate, and select Done.
    7 Select View on Map.

    Hope the helps

    Bob
     
  8. golly

    golly Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    1,978
    Location:
    Co Durham
    Yep, thanks it was hidden in categories menu, Ive been looking for it for days:Doh:

    Thanks for your help guys.

    John
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page