Free Firewalls

Discussion in 'Computers' started by ShiftZZ, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19,821
    Likes Received:
    35,861
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    I have had Zone Alarm for years and its been ok. Recently its been poping up with "New network Found" every few mins, it appears that its something that you cant control within the free version.

    Secondly I was having issues sync my uphone with my laptop and it turns out that was cased by Zone Alarm also.

    I am not keen to use the Microsoft firewall, any other suggestions?

    Ta
     
  2. madbluemad

    madbluemad

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    spain
    Iv'e never really found a free one that doesn't have its problems. My son swears by Commodo. (Think thats how you spell it)
    Jim
    :Smile::Smile:'
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    I use Windows7 firewall.. and use Microsoft Security Essentials for anitvirus.

    Just ran a firewall test from this site http://www.auditmypc.com/

    results...

    Date started: Friday, October 14th, 2011 at 7:03:16 AM

    Firewall scan on ************* (ip address deleted)

    Firewall results

    TCP ports scanned: 1-1000. UDP ports scanned: 1-1000.

    Congratulations! None of the ports you scanned for are open!
     
  4. madbluemad

    madbluemad

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    spain
    Thought this may be worth a mention under this topic thread.

    I internet bank with HSBC. As well as providing free AV software they have teamed up with McAfee.

    You can download free McAfee software if you are a customer.

    Not a bad deal.
    Jim
    :Smile:
     
  5. Jaygee32

    Jaygee32 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Norfolk
    I use Comodo :thumb:and have never had any trouble from it. I also use AVG for Email scans (that too is free.
     
  6. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    34,393
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    I've used Zone Alarm for years because of the feature of stopping outgoing programs as well as incoming (which Windows Firewall does not have).

    I get the "New network found" message from time to time but that is connected with rebooting the wireless router (which is attached to our wired network rather than being part of the cable modem). We need to do it from time to time because of time-outs on something I can't recall the full details of offhand. It isn't enough of a problem to me to dump ZA.
     
Loading...

Share This Page