Fitting new 13 amp socket

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Jerrymjj, Jul 22, 2014.

  1. Jerrymjj

    Jerrymjj Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Alton Hants
    I want to create a new power point to allow me to move the TV in our Autotrail Tracker SE. I am going to situate it on the side of the wardrobe with suitable bracing pieces on the interior to take the weight of the TV bracket and set itself. The new socket would only be about 1.5 metres from the Sargent unit but I'm not sure which circuit breaker to wire it into. The existing one that serves the other sockets? I can't see any room to add another one. Anyone done this? Advice would be appreciated. Many thanks, Jerry
     
  2. martin1485

    martin1485 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    660
    Location:
    Conwy, North Wales
    Hi Jerry
    I wired new 12v and 230v sockets into my Sargent unit. If you go onto their website and look for the wiring diagrams for your particular unit, you will probably be able to identify a spare wiring point. I had to get some of the multi block connectors that go into the PSU but Sargent were very helpful over the phone with getting the right ones.
    Martin
     
  3. PP Bear

    PP Bear Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    6,036
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Jerry

    I added 2 new 230v sockets into my Autotrail Dakota :)

    Located under both seats and the bed are black covers that are there to add existing sockets as required. Took the covers off and there were the quick release coupling, that allowed me to simply extend as far as I needed and wired into my sockets, perfect :clap:

    I intend to fit a 3rd very soon now that the socket has arrived from eBay (y)

    Have a look and see if there are any in your Autotrail as it may be an easier job for you :)

    Good luck ::bigsmile:
     
  4. Jerrymjj

    Jerrymjj Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Alton Hants
    Many thanks both. Off to explore what lurks beneath the seats right now.....
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Jerrymjj

    Jerrymjj Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Alton Hants
    found a box marked addition 13amp supply under one bed with a plastic socket on the end. I'll talk to Sargent to find an appropriat mate for it. Nothing on the other side but the water heater fused switch. Any reason why I shouldn't tap a 13amp supply from that? Water heater plust tv are still not enough to trip the RCD surely? Any thoughts?
     
  6. PP Bear

    PP Bear Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    6,036
    Location:
    UK
    I'd use the addition 13amp supply. While you may find that you don't trip the supply, it's really not worth the risk :whew:

    There's no saying that you'll not end up wanting to draw a greater supply from the extended socket at a later date, or someone else will, once you eventually sell your motorhome on :wait:

    Its easy to extend and install the new socket :roflmto:

    Just my thoughts on the electrical circuit ::bigsmile:

    Good luck with whatever you decide to do ::bigsmile:
     
  7. PP Bear

    PP Bear Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    6,036
    Location:
    UK
    I use these as they're identical to the ones already fitted :)

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=331227430708

     
  8. Gorse Hill

    Gorse Hill Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    1,603
    Location:
    Stretford
    As long as u use 2.5 flex cable no problem as it protected by 13A fuse / probably 16A mcb(breaker)
     
  9. Wickolad

    Wickolad Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Wickersley
    I recently added a socket in my Autotrail Apache using identical socket to those already fitted,see link for CBE socket example, you can get whatever color surround trim is required to suit. Mine is champagne trim.

    http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&id=291151602573&alt=web

    I took a spur off the rear of a nearby socket that was in the ring main, using 3 core 1.5mm flex. You must use flex in caravan/motorhome, not twin&earth as in domestic installations due to movement and vibrations.
     
Loading...

Share This Page