Fitting an Extra Leisure Battery

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Petros, Mar 6, 2016.

  1. Petros

    Petros Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Stoney Stanton
    I currently have a 105 ah lead acid leisure battery fitted to my Pilote motorhome (together with 120 watt solar panel). I am looking to add a second battery, i know i have to fit the same "type" of battery but do i have to fit one with the same output? Is the fitting just a case of linking the new battery to the previous one in "parallel" or is it more complicated than that?
     
  2. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Hi short answer is NOPE(y) NOT COMPLICATED :LOL:your van charger a solar control panel will only "see" one larger battery
    terry
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,885
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    What can make a difference is battery age.
    As a battery gets older it loses some efficiency thus lowering the charge state and how long it can remain charged.

    When this happens it can pull down the efficiency of the new battery by trying to charge itself from the new one, making both slightly underpowered.

    Make and size dont matter....chemistry (lead acid...gell etc) and age do.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Petros

    Petros Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Stoney Stanton
    Thanks for the info, current battery is 1 year old.
     
  5. Stealaway

    Stealaway Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    1,091
    Location:
    Dronfield - Derbyshire
    Make sure you find a way of strapping it down.
     
  6. Steve

    Steve Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,787
    Location:
    Compton Berkshire
    and please rember to connect to the other battery with suitable cabling
     
  7. Petros

    Petros Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Stoney Stanton
    Thanks for the info
     
  8. Melvin

    Melvin Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Norfolk
    I'm also considering fitting a second batt as well , my MH has a space next to the existing one for a second . Does anyone know of any fitting kits. ie cables cut to size and clamps and if so where I can get them .
     
  9. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,203
    Likes Received:
    2,281
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    I got mine from ebay. 25mm cable is the minimum you want. Do it in red or black. Comes in standard lengths with connectors or clamps, or you can buy it by the metre and make your own up with clamps and connectors that you can also buy on ebay.
     
  10. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,503
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Big cable is a better job but not essential if you fit fuses to protect it. Probably about the same cost in parts.

    Here a typical battery connector with tap offs. As said above everything is easily found on ebay

    I prefer this type of battery as it has dual terminals giving more options

    SAFETY WARNING with large cable and no fuses it is absolutely essential that you don't allow a +ve & -ve contact each other

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  11. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,203
    Likes Received:
    2,281
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    But fuses will be no good if you want to take a high draw, for example from an inverter, would they?
     
  12. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,503
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Neither respondent has said they plan to use an inverter? Most motorhomes would never exceed 40 amps in normal use.
    Yes if using an inverter you need to use cable big enough for the maximum possible current. My inverter draws from four batteries so yes impractical to put fuses everywhere hence the need for extreme caution when playing about as there will be a BIG bang if you create a short. I use 35mm welding cable that the manufacturer claims 290 amps for (Elland Flex)
     
  13. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,503
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Autotrail use a separate harness to each battery all the way from the Sargent panel probably 4mm at best. A most stupid design
     
  14. Charlie - Minton

    Charlie - Minton Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    1,444
    Location:
    Cheshire
    I'd like to add a 2nd 110amp leisure battery the present one is 12months old.

    I already have a 1000w inverter & 140w solar fitted.
    Would there be any issues with the on board Sargent charger or can I just connect the new battery with a 25mm fused cable?
     
Loading...

Share This Page