Firefox Downloads

Discussion in 'Computers' started by gypsyrose, May 12, 2009.

  1. gypsyrose

    gypsyrose Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Mid Glamorgan
    Have Firefox and Vista on my laptop and ...a load of strange problems!! :Rofl1:
    Put together with a not particularly "expert" user, it's not good.
    I'll try to explain....
    1. If I download anything I am then unable to access it - nothing happens and cannot open
    download section.
    2. Cannot access control home panel, again nothing happens.
    3. Tried to launch IE but this only happens once in a blue moon.
    4. Laptop is Acer Aspire 2920 and I have no sound (used to have, although not great).
    Googled the prob and it's a common problem and they advise downloading a driver
    but no good me doing that as I cannot run it?!!
    5. Diagnosis please before I myself need a diagnosis!! :Rofl1: Thanks! Ana x
     
  2. ralph-dot

    ralph-dot Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Billingham
    Try doing the downloads with IE
     
  3. gypsyrose

    gypsyrose Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Mid Glamorgan
    As I mentioned, getting IE is one of my problems!! :Sad:
     
  4. Braunston

    Braunston Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi, What happens when you try to open IE ?

    What setting have you got in FireFox under

    Tools
    Options
    Main

    Next to "Show the Downloads window when downloading files"

    Save Files to ?
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2009
  5. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    Could be many things that are causing your problems.

    Is this a recent problem?( if so you could try a system restore to before you had this problem)

    Are the downloaded files in ( start /username/downloads)?

    have you tried turnig off UAC (start/type user account select from list and use turn on or off user account control)?

    which AV are you using and have you checked you are virus free?( if you are using avg8 this could have caused your problem try uninstall and reinstall)

    Could be your firewall (temp switch off the check download)

    could be corrupt system files try
    start type in the box sfc /scannow (note the space after sfc) double click the above a black dos box will appear and will check for and repair system files.

    regards
     
  6. gypsyrose

    gypsyrose Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Mid Glamorgan
    Braunston, nothing happens when I try to browse IE!!
    Looked up Main settins and I have saved:-
    1. Show downloads window when downloading
    2. Always ask where to save file??
     
  7. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi

    Sorry to hear about your problems, I'm not an expert on Vista, Mac is my area of expertise (such as it is) but I've had more than my fair share of problems on the Sony VAIO with Vista :Sad: enough to turn you prematurely grey :Laughing:

    If it were me I would back up all my important stuff, pictures etc onto either DVD or a back up drive .. dig out the system disc(s) , put the coffee pot on and then do a complete re install.. a fresh start..

    Jim..
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2009
  8. gypsyrose

    gypsyrose Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Mid Glamorgan
    Sinbad1...sounds a bit advanced for me!! :cry: These problems have been around a while but no idea how long.
    I do not use AVG - use kaspersky. Definitely virus free.
    Will try firewall and attemot to do other things you suggested. Thank you, Ana x
     
  9. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    Computers can be confusing:Sad:

    Does sound as if permissions or settings have changed.

    Right click on the IE icon( the blue e it may be on your desktop or on the bar at the bottom )and select run as administrator, see if it opens IE if it does try downloading.

    Do the same with your firefox icon see if downloads work ?

    To turn off UAC click here

    case of elimination i'm afraid

    regards
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Munchie
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    139
  2. ShiftZZ
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    171

Share This Page