Extreme quotes for fulltiming!!

Discussion in 'Motorhome Insurance General Discussion' started by Coolbeanz, Oct 18, 2013.

1. Coolbeanz

Coolbeanz Funster

Our motorhome insurance is due for renewal on 5th November so I have been busy getting quotes today. As we will be classed as full-timing from March I have narrowed it down to Safeguard and Comfort as recommended by Funsters. Both companies were very helpful and friendly and I discussed our plans in detail to ensure the quotes covered our needs. Comfort's quote including breakdown & recovery was nearly £900 and Safeguard's quote was only £333. How can it be so different? Comfort suggested I may not have been quoted proper full-timing insurance from Safeguard but I had already got them to email me confirmation of this and a copy of the policy so I could read the finer details.
    Was Comfort's quote extreme or Safeguard's exceptionally cheap? Who knows as I have no previous experience but I do know which policy I will be taking out if all the small print matches up!! :Smile:

2. Easyliving

Easyliving Funster

Hi

We had a full timing policy from Comfort, premium was £850. I am pretty sure that Comfort are the only brokers that offer 'proper' full timing insurance. I would make absolutely sure Safeguard realise you will actually be living in the van and if they agree - get it in writing!

Its always possible to take a bit of a chance and not tell the insurance company you are full timing but they can (as Comfort say) ask for proof of your permanent residence, utility bills etc.

The above only applies if you don't have a permanent place of residence.

Paul

3. bigfoot

bigfoot Funster

From my experience these firms are only brokers for underwriters,some of which don't understand the uses of motorhomes. This may account for the variance of the quotes.

4. Coolbeanz

Coolbeanz Funster