engine power (1 Viewer)

A

Allan2426

Deleted User
I am a newbie to motorhomes. Previously we have caravanned for 35 years. Latest is a twin axle towed by a 3.0 L Nissan -165bhp. Total train weight, about 4000Kg.
The motorhomes we have viewed are almost exclusively 2.2 -130bhp with a Max permissble weight of 3500kg.
my question is:
Is this powerful enough engine without up/down on the gearbox at the smallest hill?

Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
if you have viewed 2.2l then they are probably looking at the Peugot version of the Fiat 2.3ltr 130 BHP. i have as many others the Fiat 2.3 130 Bhp on currnt low profile van at 3.5T and drives dream and on the motorway have to watch your speed. its easy to exceed 70 mph. our last van had 130 bhp Fiat on a 4T chassi and high profile over cab, driving was equally fine except in strong winds when fuel consumption was affected if you wanted to keep up speed and Hills neede 5th not 6th gear.
hope that help.

oh and Welcome to the Forum..:thumb:

Jaws

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 26, 2008
Thetford Norfolk
Funster No
MH
C class, Chieftain
Exp
since 2006 ( I think ! )
My previous van was an older Ducato with a 2.2 lump in it.. The van was a 3.8t Hobby, and being a bit older was built like a brick, absolutely useless aerodynamically !!
Yet the old girl dragged us all over Europe and on one memorable trip up the Furka Pass with 4 adults and two teenagers inside and a very proper ( read industrial strength ) motorcycle trailer with three big bikes hanging off the back ( yep, that one DID slow us down !!!! )
But 90% of the time it would bimble along without gear changes for many a mile

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Dec 28, 2011
Stokesley, North Yorks
Funster No
MH
JoaCamp75Q by Pilote
Exp
Still learning since 2010
I have a 2011 Peugeot based MH and it is 6 speed with a 2.2, 130 bhp motor.