down sizing to a van conversion (1 Viewer)

Aug 24, 2011
Ribble valley, Lancashire
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt hi top
Exp
I'm a newbie
I have a 7+meter Auto Trail Apache 634 and am considering buying a smaller unit. I travel alone most of the time and usually do a 4 or 5 week trip to Spain and Portugal in winter and 1 week tours of the UK in the summer. The Auto sleeper Duo is a similar layout to the Apache and is 6 meters long. What other suggestions do you have?

MikeD

Free Member
Dec 21, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
IH PVC
Exp
Since 2012
We down sized from a Autotrail Tracker (7.09mtrs) to a 6.35mtr IH rear lounge van conversion.

I love driving it, it is some much more stable on the motorways and much more manoeuvrable in the smaller inland villages.

But - there is very little storage compared to the Full size van.

Wall cupboards that were square and with a air barrier on the Autotrail are now van roof/curved wall shape and get hot in the sun and cold at night. The whole van is far less insulated and can get much colder at night.

We tour for around 12 weeks at a time and a lot of stuff now lives IN the van whilst travelling.

There are plus and minor points for both but for us we both prefer our PVC to the Autotrail.

Kingham

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 20, 2016
Kirkcudbright, D&G
Funster No
MH
AS Kingham 2017
Exp
Since 2009
I'm camping solo and have just bought my first PVC, an Auto-Sleeper Kingham after having previously owned two coachbuilts.
Fixed bed and loads of storage (y)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Kingham

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 20, 2016
Kirkcudbright, D&G
Funster No
MH
AS Kingham 2017
Exp
Since 2009
I'm camping solo and have just bought my first PVC, an Auto-Sleeper Kingham after having previously owned two coachbuilts.
Fixed bed and loads of storage (y)

Cal54

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 25, 2014
Southport, UK
Funster No
MH
Leisuredrive Renoir
Exp
Since 1996