Free Member
Oct 5, 2013
Northamptonshire
Funster No
MH
Burstner Elegance i810g
Exp
I'm a Newbie
I've had a quick search for "Dometic Fridge" threads, but can't find anything which is similar to my issue...

Picked up the van a week ago. Just before leaving there was an issue with the fridge not switching on, which appeared to be fixed before I left. However, since then the fridge (Dometic 8 series) has been playing up. For example: shouldn't it be able to be switched off? I've followed the instructions in the manual, pressed the (I) button for 3 seconds and the light goes off, everything is fine...then it goes straight back on again. The problem with this is that it's either going to drain my gas keg or drain my batteries. I've tried to find the relevant fuse, but of course the fusebox is in German! There is a 15A fuse for "AES" which I assume is the fridge (it is also marked "Kuhlschrank which apparently is German for "Refrigerator"), but removing this has absolutely no effect. Also, there is a "clicking" sound from the fridge vent on the outside of the van which may be the fridge trying to switch to gas? Since I've isolated the gas supply it then seems to be trying to switch to 12v? The van's in storage and I forgot to take a pic before I left, but I can pop back if that would be of any help?

How can the fridge work with the fuse removed? Have I got it all wrong about how it should work?How can I stop this machinery from mocking my every attempt to shut it down? Am I going mad?

And Yes, it is bugging me! I'll contact the dealer tomorrow, but I'm guessing that someone somewhere on this forum will probably have the answer (even if it's "take it to the dealer")!

Techno

LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Jul 28, 2010
Leeds the one up North
Funster No
MH
Rapido 7090F 3 litre 160
Exp
May 2010
I can confirm that a long press of the power button turns it on and off. It should not turn itself back on.
EDIT