Digital ariel.

Discussion in 'American RV's' started by Paulh, Oct 9, 2012.

  1. Paulh

    Paulh Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Bangor N.Ireland
    Hi folks, does anyone have any views on going digital with a Winguard ariel ? I believe there"s an add on by winguard that "clips" on and that"s that, anyone had any experience of this ? Both tvs are already digital so, I guess, if I sort the ariel that"s enough to get digital tv. We"re not into sat tv and 100+ channels as we get enough of that at home, we"d be happy with 4 or 5 . Thanks. :thumb:
     
  2. WillH

    WillH Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    You shouldn't need a "Digital" aerial to get digital TV, any ordinary aerial should do. TV transmissions are just ordinary signals, it's the content that's different.

    Rgds
    Bill
     
  3. Paulh

    Paulh Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Bangor N.Ireland
    Hi Bill, tried the tv, on digital, with the ariel "as is" and got nout" also when in France this year it was the same "cos les Froggies have already changed. Here, NI., they"re switching off terrestrial tv in a couple of weeks so, I"ll have to sort it somehow, and I always thought a digital ariel was needed ?
     
  4. golly

    golly Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1,997
    Location:
    Co Durham
    An ordinary directional aerial will pick up digital signals, we use the same aerial we used when we had a caravan from years ago. I suspect the old "flying saucer" type of omnidirectional aerial will not be very good, I found them hopeless with analog signals:Rofl1:
     
  5. chatter

    chatter Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,723
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    cheshire
    We have a wingard and use it no problem with our tv with built in digital receiver, One point the picture isnt good unless you press the little red button by the arial 'in point', (red button activates the built in booster in the wingard arial)
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2012
  6. WillH

    WillH Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    On our house we have three aerials over 20 years old and receive a perfect signal having gone digital some three years ago. In France you may find that they use a different digital standard, their analogue standard is different, UK is PAL and France is SECAM. The TV itself needs to be multi-standard. Mind you, one of our local TV shops made a lot of money convincing people they needed new aerials. We were in France earlier this year but I never tried the TV at all.

    Rgds
    Bill
     
  7. Paulh

    Paulh Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Bangor N.Ireland
    Cheers guys, I guess I"m going to have to play with it and see what"s occuring , thanks .:thumb:
     
  8. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    5,197
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
  9. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,140
    Likes Received:
    16,389
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    As some have said, you dont need to do anything to a Wingard arial. Just make sure its switched on.
     
  10. chatter

    chatter Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,723
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    cheshire
    The only other thing to check is that the arial wire is in good condition and all connectons/joints are good
     
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,461
    Likes Received:
    16,895
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Winguard aerials work fine on digital as they are BUT you still have the problem of polarity.

    depending where you are the signal may be horizontal or vertical polarity.

    Winguards appear to be horizontal only so vertical signals will be hard to receive.

    the add on digi signal attachment is also horizontal.

    main transmitters such as Chrystal palace, Belmont and Emley moor are horizontal so you should get a good picture, whereas repeater transmitters are usually vertical signals.

    sat dish is best as you dont need to retune each new place you stop and the dish receives both horizontal and vertical signals simultaneously (depending on channel being watched at the time)
     

Share This Page