"dave" on freeview but not freesat

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by SC 05 OUT, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    6,461
    Location:
    doncaster
    is it my imagination, was "dave" on freesat an now its not ? or has it allways only been on freeveiw,

    I seem to have lost either "it" or the the "plot" not sure which
     
  2. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,759
    Likes Received:
    7,774
    Location:
    Flintshire
    I think it's only available on Freeview, I certainly can't get it on FReesat
     
  3. rainbow chasers

    rainbow chasers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    1,720
    Location:
    Mid Cornwall
    11th January....need to retune as the channels have all shifted!
     
  4. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,475
    Likes Received:
    25,170
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    I had that senior moment a while ago, freeview only.
     
  5. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    6,461
    Location:
    doncaster
    just done that, still not there, looked on websites and it seems to be freeview only:Sad:

    seems I cant get rid of the old freeview recorder after all, now ive got four remotes to find and try to work out
     
  6. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,759
    Likes Received:
    7,774
    Location:
    Flintshire
    You might like to keep freeview for the QUEST channel on channel 38.
     
  7. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Correcto. Dave has been on Freeview, NEVER on Freesat (and probably will not ever as it gets some income from the subscription!), and Pay / Sky on satellite.

    And a rescan may be of use: ITV1+1 launched today, and ITV rejigged some of its frequencies and numbers....

    You can get ITV1+1 nice and easy with a skuy card, by using ITV1+1 West which is on freq 11973 (if you need to add it to your sky other channels list) and like the ITVCentrals on there requires a sky crd to view
     
  8. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,274
    Likes Received:
    6,461
    Location:
    doncaster

    so are FREEview and FREEsat not run by the came company, I just assumed they were one and the same?
     
  9. niggle

    niggle Banned - Rule 1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    607
    Location:
    SOUTH AND FRANCE
    :BigGrin: the reason that some of the channells have been jiged with is the up/down link station is under repair and building restructer [ building works ] new main frame being put in ,,i park m/h home at same site,, they have been at it since before xmas:BigGrin:
     
  10. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    No.
    They are two seperate companies.
    One for terrestrial and one for extraterrestrial.
    I understand that Freesat is a BBC / ITV venture, and Freeview is jointly run by its five equal shareholders, BBC, ITV, Channel 4, Sky and transmitter operator Arqiva.

    FreeSAT was to help those areas that can not get Freeview reception) about 85% of the UK cannot get Freeview reception), so everyone has at least the basic UK TV channels.
     
Loading...

Share This Page