Computers drive you nuts

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Wildman, Nov 2, 2012.

  1. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    why oh why, when I have loaded a page that takes a while does it appear on the screen only to have a box appear over the top saying it cannot load this page. I find it happening more and more on fun. It is so annoying that the info I want is there hidden behind that damn box. when I delete the box the loaded page goes as well leaving a white screen
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2012
  2. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,845
    Likes Received:
    76,162
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    I am on a very slow connection Roger and never seen that box you describe. I'll fire up a windows machine and take a look. what browser are you using?
     
  3. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    I.E 7 on this old XP machine but it happens on the windows 7 netbook as well. I'll try a screen grab next time I get it.
     
  4. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    didn't have to wait long for that

    [​IMG]
     
  5. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    possible settings in ie are wrong and need tweaking try to use chrome i never have a problem with that i never use ie any more dam load of crap
     
  6. bungy

    bungy Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    Welsh marches
    quite possibly because its IE7 and it cant cope with some elements on a web page - either try another browser or upgarde to IE8

    MS support page

    OR it might be that you have two tabs for 'other' motorhome forums open....:Rofl1:
     
  7. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    I have used 7 without a problem since 2003. I use tabs a lot and have over 1000 favourites stored. I am too old and brainless to sort out a new browser though I have several others installed I just don't get on with them. but thanks for the suggestion
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2012
  8. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,845
    Likes Received:
    76,162
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Some sites charge more if you use their sites with IE7 :BigGrin: No one should be using it. IE7 has so many exploits, it's positively dangerous to use and this is maybe why you are suffering so. I don't think its been updated since 2007:Eeek:

    Upgrade your browser, it takes a few minutes and will probably take less resources than you are using now, you shouldn't lose your bookmarks:thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Rochester
    You need to move on Roger, Explorer 9 is out now and it works ok for me, as JIm says Explorer 7 ain't safe.
     
  10. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    as I said in the other thread Dane I have the same problem on my windows 7 netbook running ie9.
     
  11. Leftlegger

    Leftlegger Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    N.somerset
    • Like Like x 2
  12. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    like a fool I took all of the advice, and turned on updates, updated the browser downloaded all of the security patches etc. Then spent several hours getting my sound to function again.
    Still runing XP and IE8 is the latest browser and just as bugged as when it first came out some portions of my header are blacked out so I cannot read the options. at least now when a program is not responding only that tab closes or refreshes instead of the entire browser closing. I am getting too old for this computer lark, with so many other issues to worry about I don't need my lifeline pulled from under me. I tried to restore to the previous settings but no go, it would not allow me you go back to an earlier version of windows. So I'm stuck with only half a brain and no patience to sort this one out. If/when I ever disappear you will understand tis the damn computer.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2012
  13. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    You have all my sympathy Roger .. after I messed it up I spent the best part of two days reformatting, re installing Windows7 and the drivers, downloading updates etc .. .. :Sad: but I did learn a lot.. ie don't mess with it ... :Laughing:

    All I would suggest is giving Chrome or Firefox a go.. never used or liked IE in any flavour..
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2012
Loading...

Share This Page