Computer genious required. Apply within

Discussion in 'Computers' started by geoff1947, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. geoff1947

    geoff1947 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Plymouth
    sat on site in Spain so help required please.
    I have Windows XP on my laptop (ACER Travel Mate 4060) and want to run films from my external hard drive on to my TV via the VGA cable but to no effect.
    I hold "Fn" in the "down" position and then press "F5"
    All I get on the blank TV screen is "VGA no signal" and a time of 4.30 which counts down to switch off the TV.
    I'm sure there is an "Expert" out there who can guide me through this problem.:thumb::thumb:
     
  2. johnsandywhite

    johnsandywhite Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Doncaster/Spain
    :Laughing: Right click on the Desktop and go to properties, Settings and set up the second screen. Alternatively:-

    Start
    Control Panel
    Display
    Setttings etc etc

    Forgot to mention. You can do more in either with the Advance settings.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2010
  3. Detourer

    Detourer Trader - Tour Operator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Spain and Morocco
    You can't ask for a "Computer Expert" as this disciminates against a total computer no-no like me....:cry:

    Ray
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,452
    Likes Received:
    16,883
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    but are you offended Ray ?
    if so you may be able to make a claim...:Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  5. meanders

    meanders Funster - Life Member Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    Ipswich, Suffolk
    If its the same as my Travelmate 5720 then the procedure is:

    Press Fn and F5 together and then tab across to the second icon if you want just the VGA output or tab twice to the third if you want the VGA and the lappy screens both on. You may need to clear the desktop first to see the selection bar. Pressing F5 multiple times as per the traditional method, still only selects the lappy screen.

    NB: I am not an expert. To understand what an expert is, you have to phonetically split the word:
    Ex = Someone who is past it!
    Spurt = A drip under pressure!

    Definitely not me guv! :active:
     
  6. geoff1947

    geoff1947 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Plymouth
    OOPS sorry Apparently one cannot request a"Reliable" worker from the Job Centre as it discriminates against the "Unreliable" Time I died and went to heaven!!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page