clarification and help with my insurance options (1 Viewer)

Ondrej

Free Member
Apr 12, 2017
herne bay
Funster No
MH
don't own one yet
Exp
Im a newbie
Hello everybody, I would appreciate your more experienced opinion...

Long story short: Me and my girlfriend are currently living in Kent, renting a house, both of us having a private car. My girlfriend got a job in Scotland and will move there in ~ 2 months time. I plan to stay in Kent for a little while due to work, but to make it more interesting I though about living in motorhome (which I have been seriously tempted for a quite a while but my partner did not share my enthusiasm. So this seems as a great opportunity... to give it a go

I found a beautiful old hymer C-class 1991 in neighbourhood which seems to be well maintained and in general seems perfect for my needs and driving licence up to 3,5tons (EUROPEAN LICENSE!); As this is kind of a trial project I don't want to spent 25 000 pounds for a motorhome.

I spent 2 full days gathering information about insurance options as would actually live in the motorhome full time, so it makes it more complicated... + other points to consider (EU lisence, not owning other car)

to summarise it:
I have got B driving license - EUROPEAN license for 11 years
I have got 26 year old motorhome of ~ 9000 pounds value
I have job in kent, Won't have pernament address there in kent; and I potentialy could have an address of rented flat in Scotland in future (july..?)
I wont have my other private car apart from MH (I plan to sell it and use MH only), but I am named driver on my partners car (potentially I could transfer it on myself)
I am fully employed paying taxes; registered with GP there in kent.

Full timer insurance:
- Comfort insurance - requires full UK license for more than 2 years, and MH value more then 25000
- MHFacts - requires full UK license (not sure about 2 years period)
- AIB insurance - does full timer only for MH under 10 years of age