Choosing a Satellite TV receiver

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by RS SPIKE, Apr 6, 2016.

  1. RS SPIKE

    RS SPIKE Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    derbyshire
    I know there are lots of posts on here regarding the above !!!
    i'm just after the best advise for the latest FTA receivers to buy ??
     
  2. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,493
    Likes Received:
    4,753
    Location:
    Guisborough
    I'm not saying it's the best, but you can use a TV with built in sat tuner.

    We use Avtex.

    Martin
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,340
    Likes Received:
    7,601
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Base you decisions first on..

    1. Do you want it 12v or are you ok to use a mains only receiver via an Inverter.
    2. Freesat or Free to air ?? Freesat gives UK TV channels in a nice ordered on screen display, like your current TV or a sky box does.. Free to air, still gets all the channels but may be all over the place until you manually organise them into some form of favourites..

    Once you work those two out then start searching :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. PhilG

    PhilG Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    leicester
    i want to use my Virgin box from home.. used a sky one years ago, but not with an Oyster dish
     
  5. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,340
    Likes Received:
    7,601
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Virgin is cable.!! Not satellite.
     
  6. PhilG

    PhilG Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    leicester
    does that mean i need a long cable.. i think i feel a dodgybox coming on
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,340
    Likes Received:
    7,601
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    :) Yea VERY LONG.... I'm only in Cannock but we dont even get it here !!
     
  8. RS SPIKE

    RS SPIKE Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    derbyshire
    I was looking for 12v as we do lots of wild camping
    If I use freesat with an inverter will it work in France???
    Or am I best using free to air for Europe use ???
     
  9. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    When I installed my Alden dish, I also bought the Maxview 12v HD decoder, both from Vanbitz..

    it is FTA but also has a pre set list of all the Astra 2 channels .. so no problem with the UK channels being all 'mixed up' with the other 200

    Read all the features here.... then compare with cheaper decoders..

    http://www.vanbitz.com/product/maxview-12v-free-air-satellite-decoder-receiver/

    Very very pleased with it.. and you get a Funster discount from @eddievanbitz

    Re your question about FreSat tuners.. as far as I know they can also be set to receive all the FTA channels and will work abroad..
     
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Share This Page