Chausson Side wall/Floor Construction (1 Viewer)

gus500

Free Member
Apr 20, 2017
bexhill
Funster No
MH
exploring the market
Exp
I'm a newbe
I am new to the world of motorhomes, and have whittled my choice of a new machine down to a Chausson (I think!). One thing I've noticed is that they do not use an aluminium extrusion (unlike the likes of Autotrail etc) at the intersection between the sidewall and floor. Has this been an issue with the manufactures that used, or still use this method, and is that why others appear to have moved to the metal extrusion construction?

andy63

Free Member
Jan 19, 2014
south shields
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
since 1990
aluminium extrusion (unlike the likes of Autotrail etc) at the intersection between the sidewall and floor
Hi and welcome..
What model are you looking ato? ?

Nor sure what you are referring to.. the sidewalls and floor meet on the underside an I don't recall seeing any extrusions used there , just sealed with mastic ,but where the walls meet the roof I think they use aluminium capping there...
Andy..

jonandshell

Free Member
Dec 12, 2010
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Not got one!
Exp
Since 2006
The outer walls are polyester. Far superior to aluminium when it comes to damage resistance.
We'd have another for that reason alone.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
G

gus500

Free Member
Apr 20, 2017
bexhill
Funster No
MH
exploring the market
Exp
I'm a newbe
Hi and welcome..
What model are you looking ato? ?

Nor sure what you are referring to.. the sidewalls and floor meet on the underside an I don't recall seeing any extrusions used there , just sealed with mastic ,but where the walls meet the roof I think they use aluminium capping there...
Andy..