Changing the regulator on LPG tank

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by JackieP, Aug 8, 2016.

  1. JackieP

    JackieP Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Evening all.

    I've been having some problems lighting my gas water boiler and one of the suggestions has been to change the regulator. In the old days I just bought one and fitted it to the Gaslow bottles. Now I have an underslung tank and I haven't a clue how to fit a new one.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,861
    Likes Received:
    14,520
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Remove the tank cover and turn the tank isolation valve off. The rest will be obvious
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,861
    Likes Received:
    14,520
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Best thing to do is establish what regulator you have just now (PICTURE) then we can find a replacement for you.
    [​IMG]
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. JackieP

    JackieP Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Thank you techno. I'm on my phone with little data but will take a picture and upload it soon as I can find wifi.

    I do know it's a 50mb system due to the age and origin (Germany) of the van.
     
  5. JackieP

    JackieP Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Do you know.... If the system was fitted in December 2014, would you expect to have to fit a new regulator by now?
     
  6. xsparks

    xsparks Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    Gillingham
    I bought a spare regulator from gas it about £20.
     
  7. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,861
    Likes Received:
    14,520
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    The regulator will need to be matched to the equipment in the van. Modern regulators are 30mb but if your equipment is jetted for 50 it will be starved with a 30mb one
     
  8. JackieP

    JackieP Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    I took the cover off but nothing seemed very obvious (to me). There is something above that looks like a regulator so I've posted that too.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. JackieP

    JackieP Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Yes. All the equipment inside is still rated st 50mb. 30 years old and still working. Apart from that pesky boiler.
     
  10. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,861
    Likes Received:
    14,520
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Yes the something above is the regulator. You need a close up of the yellow label (clean it first) and whether the gas pipe is 8mm or 10 mm
     
  11. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,861
    Likes Received:
    14,520
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    It looks like W20 left hand side to 8mm pipe right side
     
  12. JackieP

    JackieP Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Hang on.....
     
  13. JackieP

    JackieP Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    First picture is how it looks. Second shows label 'flipped' to make it easier to read.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. JackieP

    JackieP Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    I was thinking that it would just be question of buying a new one and putting it on - as it used to be with the bottles. I can see that this is more complicated - and it's only a chance that it's the regulator at fault.
     
  15. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,861
    Likes Received:
    14,520
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    • Funny Funny x 1
  16. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,861
    Likes Received:
    14,520
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    If everything else is working I would have your boiler looked at
     
  17. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
    @JackieP I replaced the regulator on my old Hymer. I had to buy an adapter which enabled me to use a standard propane regulator with hose connector. I know this is not what is done nowadays with 'standardisation' and using 'tails' but it enabled me to make a straight substitute.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  18. JackieP

    JackieP Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    I'm having this done next week. Without seeing it the gas man has decided I need a new boiler at s cost of £850 What I'm trying to do is try some possible cheaper solutions first.

    I read that the boiler is the last in line and that's why the other appliances may work fine but the boiler will fail to light if the regulator is past its best.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. JackieP

    JackieP Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Thanks for the link Techno. That looks right and not too expensive either!
     
  20. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,861
    Likes Received:
    14,520
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Check it is 8mm though
     
Loading...

Share This Page