cat 1 alarm

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by camocam1, Jul 10, 2014.

1. camocam1

camocam1 Read Only Funster

Insurers are telling me that I need to fit a cat1 alarm to the MH I'm looking at buying bailey approach 760se how do I find out if one has been fitted as dealer has no idea and if not fitted can anyone tell me how much it is likely to cost ??? know of anyone in Scotland that can fit it

thanks Ron

2. Inthezone

Inthezone Read Only Funster

Cat one alarms can cost from about £500 and can go upto £1000 depending what you have done, external/ internal zones, all lockers protected, Etc eddie van bitz do a system called strikeback and growler very popular amongst MH all the best one arre based on the meto system i beleive, I am not an expert but I am sure like buses five or six will turn up soon :D:rofl::rofl:

3. Bailey58

Bailey58 Funster Life Member

I should think the standard alarm fitted by the dealer is Cat 2. Why don't you phone or email Bailey and ask. I've ordered spares direct and they usually respond to emails by next day.

4. NickNic

NickNic Funster Life Member

Cat 1 is the alarm which won't be fitted by the dealer. Cat 2 is the immobiliser which will almost certainly be fitted to the base vehicle by the manufacturer if it's a new/newish van.
    The Strikeback from Vanbitz is great and Taunton is a nice place to visit at this time of year (y)

5. Munchie

Munchie Funster Life Member

I had to have one fitted when i bought the van 6 years ago. They fitted a laseline, now i think the fitter was a numpty but it is crap!!!
    I will be visiting Eddie when I am in UK in May next year to have it removed and a Strikeback fitted!

6. Terry

Terry Funster

Get a Clifford Viper alarm immobilizer --you can get mobile fitters and they are only around £250 fitted --google Viper car alarm ;)
    terry

7. camocam1