Can't See The 'pop Ups' Anymore

Discussion in 'Computers' started by The Dude, Jun 28, 2015.

  1. The Dude

    The Dude Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    2,271
    Location:
    Near Uttoxeter and Crete
    Previously when I hover over the title of a post in the forum I would get a little box popping up which showed me the first few lines of the post - this doesn't happen any more. My previous PC as Windows 7 but I've just got a new PC with Windows 8 so I'm not sure if this problem is to do with the new PC or to do with the updates which have recently taken place on the Forum.
    Any advice would be very welcome.
    Thanks.
     
  2. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Pop ups, or post previews works ok for me .. W7 and Firefox 38
     
  3. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,437
    Likes Received:
    11,129
    Location:
    Kettering
    Still works for me.

    Mac OS X 10.10.3 and Safari
     
  4. The Dude

    The Dude Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    2,271
    Location:
    Near Uttoxeter and Crete
    Ok - so it sounds as if it's to do with my PC rather than the forum. Please can anyone advise me what I should do?
     
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    which browser are you using ?
     
  6. The Dude

    The Dude Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    2,271
    Location:
    Near Uttoxeter and Crete
    Google Chrome - was also using this on the old PC.
     
  7. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,480
    Likes Received:
    5,526
    Location:
    Near Mold North Wales
    I had the same problem yesterday (software issued a security problem message). Logged off then onto site using userid/password. Now everything's fine.(y)
     
  8. The Dude

    The Dude Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    2,271
    Location:
    Near Uttoxeter and Crete
    Just logged off then logged on again - still no post previews.
    @Gromett - help - are you out there?????
     
  9. sallylillian

    sallylillian Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    498
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall
    It was fine on Win 8.1 and still fine on Win 10, with Firefox and Spartan. Is your connection just too slow?
     
  10. The Dude

    The Dude Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    2,271
    Location:
    Near Uttoxeter and Crete
    No - in fact it's faster on the new PC than it was on the old one.
     
  11. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    I get this intermittently however then noticed that the pop-ups don't appear until the page is fully loaded. Is the tab showing the page is still loading when you are hovering over the title?
     
  12. The Dude

    The Dude Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    2,271
    Location:
    Near Uttoxeter and Crete
    Yes, the page is fully loaded - I can see all the adverts on the right hand side and the little blue circle has stopped spinning but still no post previews appearing.
     
  13. Borderland

    Borderland Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    2,130
    Location:
    Borders
    If you find the answer then please let me know. I have the same problem on old laptop using windows 7 and IE11 but okay using google chrome. I also can't add attachments to emails or open up things such as internet option box on the tools page on the old laptop.
     
  14. The Dude

    The Dude Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    2,271
    Location:
    Near Uttoxeter and Crete
    Just discovered that it works fine in Internet Explorer. So it must be a Google Chrome setting - does anyone have any idea were this might be? Thanks.
     
  15. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    Is Chrome's pop-up blocker turned on?
    • Select Settings.
    • Click Show advanced settings.
    • In the top-right corner of the browser window, click the Chrome menu [​IMG].
    • Under "Privacy," click the Content settings button.
    • Under "Pop-ups," select Do not allow any site to show pop-ups (recommended).
    Worth a try?
     
  16. The Dude

    The Dude Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    2,271
    Location:
    Near Uttoxeter and Crete
    There doesn't appear t be a Pop Ups option in the Contents settings page.
    The only options I have are:
    Cookies:
    Allow data to be set (recommended) - this is selected
    Keep local data only until you quit your browser - not selected
    Block sites from setting any data - not selected
    Block third party cookies and site data - not selected
    Images:
    Show all images (recommended - this is selected
    Do not show any images

    Any other ideas welcome.
     
  17. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    ditch Chrome and install Firefox.. :)
     
  18. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,941
    Likes Received:
    14,016
    Location:
    UK
    Sorry I have only just got reliable internet access and a working battery. long story.

    The pop up is a CSS/Javascript trick. Any problem with this is usually if not always a problem with your browser. Unfortunately not a lot I can help with on that front sorry.
     
  19. The Dude

    The Dude Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    2,271
    Location:
    Near Uttoxeter and Crete
    Sounds like it's going to be far too technical for me to solve - will just have to remember to launch MHF in IE rather than Google. Thanks anyway to all who responded.
     
  20. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    Or as Jim says install Firefox?
     
Loading...

Share This Page