Campsite in france (2 Viewers)

Howard H

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 10, 2015
West Lancashire
Funster No
MH
Benimar mileo 294
Hi everyone , in June we will traveling from Calais to a site in Saint Emilion but like to break the journey about half way down for a couple of days could anybody suggest a site for us to stop at . As we are complete novices at European camping is there any thing we need to know before we set off .thanks

Photo4x4

Free Member
Jul 26, 2014
Scottish Highlands
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt with over cab
Exp
Hello

We were over in France last month and used a mixture of aires and campsites. For the campsites we used the Link Removed guide to French Campsites from Vicarious Books. However we found that the majority of French campsites close at the end of September then many of the remainder close at the end of October. I believe that the 'municipals' may open longer, but I have no doubt someone will be along soon with a more definitive answer. The aires of course mainly stay open all year.

Good luck and enjoy your trip.

KH

Upvote 0

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
Vendome.. :)
It's one of our regular stopovers along that route.
It has free parking places but also a municipal campsite, next to park and swimming pool. Lovely town to walk around.
Only downside is maybe road noise from the nearby N10.
Anyway. here is a link for the site..Broken Link Removed

Prior to this, there is a lovely aire at Marboue.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
Hello