Burstner - draining the water heater?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Flobster, Dec 22, 2013.

1. Flobster

Flobster Read Only Funster

Evening all,
    I'm a brand newbie (having just taken the plunge and bought a 2001 Burstner 532 Active mh )
    My first question ( no doubt of many ,as although it had a manual, it's all in German!)
    It has a Truma heater and a solenoid that automatically empties the fresh water tank ,when the temperature goes down to 3 degrees (per previous owner . )
    There is about an inch of water now ,left in the fresh tank, ( presume that's normal?) but does it automatically drain the water in the heater as well, or does that need draining seperately ( and if so, how ,please?
    Many thanks for reading and look forward to meeting u Funsters ( apart from Spenders, who I already know ,and who kindly introduced me to the mh fun!)
    Regards
    Flobster
    (Mick)

2. GJH

GJH Funster Life Member

First of all congratulations on buying a Burstner :BigGrin:

The automatic dump valve actually drains the water heater, not the fresh water tank. You will also probably find that there is a manual dump valve with a yellow lever similar to the one in the illustration attached.

Our Burstner has a plug in the bottom of the fresh tank, attached to the access cap by a chain. When the cap is unscrewed the plug can be pulled out to drain it.

See my notes Here.

Hilldweller (Brian) has a Burstner A530, which I think is similar to the A532, so may be able to offer more tips.

Attached Files:

• Like Like x 1
  3. hilldweller

hilldweller Funster Life Member

You've just done most of it, one automatic valve and a lever valve almost next to it right by the Truma.

Then you must pull the plug in the tank, turn the water pump off ( over the door ) and open and blow down all taps to clear the water for if it freezes in the tap it's dead. Leave them open.