Bought Copilot with weekend discount

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by grumfy, Nov 30, 2015.

  1. grumfy

    grumfy Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Noth Hampshire
    Been looking at Copilot for a while to load onto new iPad mini 4. Over weekend Premium Western Europe was on offer for £18 so took the plunge. It all seemed to download ok and sat at home all seemed to work as it should, found GPS signal, planned routes showed me correct map screen etc. Weather foul yesterday so did not go out but today walked to doctors and took copilot with me but it did not seem to track my movement. If I rebooted it then it came up with the point I had moved too but still would not track/guide. I reasoned that I was confusing it by moving too slowly, clutching at straws maybe. So this afternoon had to go out in car but still no joy, it behaved exactly the same. Now feel that I have not got the bargain I thought. But is there something I have not done that I should have to make it work? Any (helpful) suggestions welcomed. Thanks
     
  2. ericroy

    ericroy Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    I have used this on an iPad with some success and with the extras I reckon it is good value for money. The one drawback is not being able to add POIs on the latest version of IOS.

    As my iPad does not have the built-in network/GPS, I have to use an external GPS receiver connecte via Bluetooth. I do wonder whether this is your issue and whether the initial location you were getting was from the "location services" based on your home wifi rather than GPS?
     
  3. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    4,796
    Pardon me for asking but you do have the mini with the sim card slot don't you?

    Edit: @ericroy has already said it for me (y)
     
  4. grumfy

    grumfy Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Noth Hampshire
    Thanks ericroy, I knew about the gps issue but mini 4 is said to have "assisted gps" and GLONASS which I now know is the Russian GPS. Also it know where I am if I reboot away from home wifi so it must have gps receiver - I hope.
     
  5. DuxDeluxe

    DuxDeluxe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9,365
    Likes Received:
    25,124
    Location:
    Planet Zog
    I like copilot - use it on the iPad and phone. Works well, together with traffic
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. grumfy

    grumfy Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Noth Hampshire
    Chocsawahay - no I do not not have a sim card iPad but thought as it had gps I was ok. But now doubt that.
     
  7. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    4,796
    Ah, the GPS only comes with the mobile data version of the Ipad :giggle:
     
  8. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,587
    Likes Received:
    11,577
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    @Forestboy is the copilot expert. But could it be something in the settings? You need the app to stay active and the device not go to sleep. Is there a setting to enable this?

    According to the spec the iPad mini 4 has a proper GPS, or what apple call assisted GPS which just means it uses phone masts to speed up getting a first fix.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2015
  9. grumfy

    grumfy Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Noth Hampshire
    This is great, such helpful advice and now so much to look into. I think I need to go away and look at copilot settings all again. I will be back when I can. Thanks to you all.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Forestboy

    Forestboy Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4,951
    Likes Received:
    7,719
    Location:
    Forest of Dean
    Sorry have no idea mine worked first go although I do struggle with it in walking mode.
    @bungy can probably help he's my default technical expert. (y)
     
  11. bungy

    bungy Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    Welsh marches
    :rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl: that has made my day:)

    @grumfy - as Chocswahay has said, none cellular doesn't have GPS im afraid, but relies on WIFI (which is why it would would work at home), and uses apples digital compass which basically tells apps etc which way you are pointing from magnetic fields which is probably what is finding your location when you restart it - or its picking it up from a WIFI signal close by. Im afraid you'll need an external GPS dongle to make use of it
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. grumfy

    grumfy Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Noth Hampshire
    Thanks Bungy you have just confirmed my worst fears and explained why it appeared to find itself when restarted. Just been looking at GPS receivers and best I can see is about £60. So my bargain is not such a bargain after all.
    Thanks again to all who helped me.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Forestboy

    Forestboy Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4,951
    Likes Received:
    7,719
    Location:
    Forest of Dean

    Hang on @bungy my techie friend I paid £24 for full Europe and it works perfect off line everywhere. Definitely haven't bought some expensive £69 add on.
    Whats the difference.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. grumfy

    grumfy Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Noth Hampshire
    Well having discovered that not all iPads have GPS (why not? they are not cheap!) I decided that having got this far that I would have to get myself a bluetooth GPS receiver - GNS 2000 certified made for iPod, iPhone and iPad. It came today and well my iPad will not discover the GNS 200o so I am no further forward. My laptop picks up the GNS straight away and my iPad and laptop connect to each other as does my phone to the iPad. So that tells me that both iPad and GNS are both working but not with each other! Anyone care to suggest what I do next?
     
  15. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    4,796
  16. grumfy

    grumfy Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Noth Hampshire
    I have an iPad mini 4 with IOS 9
     
  17. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    4,796
    @grumfy just a thought, have you had your Ipad very long? otherwise you could change it for the 'sim' version with GPS......

    Take the other GPS back

    Probably not much more cost?
     
  18. Langtoftlad

    Langtoftlad Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,622
    Likes Received:
    3,977
    Location:
    Langtoft, South Lincs
    Our £35 Chinese TruckNav's may not be perfect - but at least they have GPS and can find the satellites [mostly] :xgrin:.
     
  19. grumfy

    grumfy Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Noth Hampshire
    Unfortunately I have had the iPad a little while. Yes I wish I had bought the sim version. After reading the other forum it makes think I need to send the GPS back and give up on using co-pilot with my iPad
     
  20. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    4,796
    I wish I could help more, sorry. Maybe 'cutting your losses' is a good idea.....
     
Loading...

Share This Page