bonnet opening problems

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by oozzie, Apr 22, 2015.

  1. oozzie

    oozzie Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    CHESTER
    Hi, having problems getting the bonnet catch to release. think the cable might of seized up, have managed to get the bonnet up and liberally sprayed wd40 down the cable but still no movement.
    Anyone know where i could purchase a new cable?
    The van is a hymer 544 2004 fiat ducato base, is this a fiat dealer product?

    Any advice gratefully received.

    thanks.
    oozzie
     
  2. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,269
    Likes Received:
    12,092
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    cant help with a spare, but our Mercedes Hymer has always been a 2 man (person) job, one pulling handle inside other pulling bonnet up outside. Sometimes I get lucky on my own but usually takes several goes

    you may well change it and not fix the problem :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Al-Di

    Al-Di Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    2,998
    Location:
    prestwich
    fiat dealer, or ebay,
     
  4. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,425
    Likes Received:
    11,089
    Location:
    Kettering
    Not a base vehicle problem on an A class. The whole body including the bonnet is part of the conversion. A motorhome tech or failing that a Hymer dealer is what you need if it beats you.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. oozzie

    oozzie Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    CHESTER
    currently i can get my hand through the "M" on the hymer and manage to pop the catch, not ideal tho. Good job i'm flexible!!
     
  6. rangitira

    rangitira Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    12,382
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Just keep giving the what ho with the WD40, best if you spray (and pray:rolleyes: ) with the bonnet open, spray while someone is pulling the release, no need to get a new one unless the cable is frayed.
    It happens a lot if the van is left over a period of time, just one of those many many things you get used to look out for! Nothing serious !(y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Daz n Tina

    Daz n Tina Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    1,825
    Location:
    Emsworth
    Have you tried a can opener?
     
  8. kaasbroodje

    kaasbroodje Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    772
    Location:
    Bristol
    I've had one replaced before - standard ducato bonnet cable.

    About a tenner from memory.

    Think my garage got it from the local motor factor, so readily available I guess ?
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Bicycle shop that does repairs.

    They may stock cable on a drum.

    Correct length and a couple of solderless nipples.
    nipples come in a vast amount of sizes and shapes so they will probably have something to suit.

    Just realised all this mention of nipples, especially the last sentence, will get some unsavoury replies for sure.
     
  10. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    2,682
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Part of the problem is the length of cable. Someone at Hymer (and maybe Fiat) hasn't worked out that the outer will push the latch open so it's run in a huge loop. I cut around 3 feet out of mine & it's now a very light pull.
     
  11. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,319
    Likes Received:
    21,559
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Remove the cable.
    Take it to Halfrauds and buy a rear brake cable for a push bike that is about the right length ( you can always loose a bit if its too long but cannot stretch it if too short ! ) ..
    You will have to do a bit of flickery dodgery on one end to get it to attach but the other end will be fine
     
  12. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    2,682
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    If you're into flickery dodgery get rid of the excess length running all around the bonnet area. Run it in a gentle curve over/round the wiper motor. The outer cable will push where the inner used to pull and the inner will do the opposite. You lose at least 3 feet of redundant cable & end up with a very light pull.
     
  13. johnp10

    johnp10 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,638
    Likes Received:
    14,189
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    Some of those bonnet catches are a bugger to open.
    Cant even steal a decent battery nowadays!
     
  14. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,781
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Interesting thread. The cable on my B630 seems to be the right length and works very well - no sign of excessive cable loops in the engine bay. I wonder whether that is because: a) it's a Sprinter chassis; b) it's LHD so the release cable is fitted in what for Hymer would be the 'standard' position. Release lever is below and to the left of the steering column, near the driver's door.
     
  15. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    think you hit the nail on the head Phillip, also LHD and easy to operate... cable is only about 4ft
     
  16. B-well

    B-well Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    901
    Location:
    Kent coast
    Had similar problem Hymer 534 LHD short cable, cycle shop then elecrical connector on the NEW inner cable sorted the problem out.
     
Loading...

Share This Page