Best sat nav

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by scotty1, Oct 18, 2016.

  1. scotty1

    scotty1 Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Kent
    If price was no object what sat nav would everyone get.ie easy download poi- lifetime maps- camper size etc( have been looking at tomtom world 5200) ?????
     
  2. kevan

    kevan Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    296
    Location:
    Herne Bay
    I use the Aguri, and a snooper for back up both 7" loaded with caravan/motor home software(y)
     
  3. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    34,392
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    I've used several sat navs and have some notes Here. The Garmin 760 LMT-D is my favourite at the moment.

    I wouldn't buy TomTom again without first verifying that their marketing information was truthful. I made a mistake earlier this year in believing that they actually supported third party POI sets (I won't buy Snooper or Aguri either because of their lack of such support).
     
  4. Khizzie

    Khizzie Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    3,288
    Location:
    Newbury , West Berkshire
    Exactly the same set up as me .cant be faulted so far ...
     
  5. GeriatricWanderer

    GeriatricWanderer Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    3,129
    Location:
    Now back in Sarfend for a couple of months.
    Which ever one you select don't believe it will always avoid "taking you down a narrow track" just because you input your vehicle dimensions.
    They can only be as good as the maps they use.
    They all are more effective if used in conjunction with a decent map or, if Garmin, in conjunction with Base camp.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. kevan

    kevan Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    296
    Location:
    Herne Bay
    had one of these but it would find two or three routes and the tell you it was not sure if they were suitable for motor homes? every one to there own;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    34,392
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Absolutely - as Roy's (@Khizzie's) experience v mine shows :)
    I've not experienced the Garmin finding multiple routes, though I think Basecamp sometimes does. It may depend on settings.
     
  8. iandsm

    iandsm Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    2,695
    Location:
    Suffolk
    The Garmin 3598 and Drivelux offer two or three routs if you ask when planning, each in a different colour. It gives the drive times and distances for each and you select your preferred one. I don't know about other models but I suspect they may also do the same. It the two small arrows between "I" and "Go"
     
  9. Mel

    Mel Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    De Haan Belgium
    Snooper is my choice + Map
    But the driver has the last say.
    I have never understood the drivers that get there vehicle fast and blame the sat nav.
     
  10. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    34,392
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Thanks. I've never noticed that on either the Camper 760 LMT-D or the Nuvi 2569.
    I've just tried asking for route to Blackpool (as I know there are 3 which it chooses from depending on traffic conditions) on both devices and both presented a single route.
     
  11. iandsm

    iandsm Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    2,695
    Location:
    Suffolk
    I did mention this was on 3598 and Drivelux. However my suspicions that other model do it are obviously wrong. Perhaps it only applies to the top end models.
     
  12. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    34,392
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Yes, I bet that is the case. I thought I'd check it on my two just to confirm.
     
  13. iandsm

    iandsm Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    2,695
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Actually I think it's one of those things one never uses, if I set the device to give me the fastest rout I don't think I have ever taken an alternative one which was slower and looks a less straightforward one. Nice to see but probably software overkill. Might be of use on a very few occasions but that's about it.

    I am still toying with the Tomtom 5200 because I am fed up with the poor linking of the Garmin blue tooth services. I might give the 5200 a try because although there are downsides I know it can take at least 96 favourite places and the traffic is on balance better than Garmin also I quite like the Tomtom routing app and web page for rout planning it is very fast and much easier than Garmin Base camp which is have never been comfortable with . I will report back if I do try it
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2016
  14. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    34,392
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    I've been put off TomTom by my experience this year. I bought a Trucker 5000 in March, to use alongside the Garmin, thinking (from the text and illustrations on the TomTom web site) that the lack of POI support had been overcome. That turned out not to be the case, and still isn't. You can load user POIs but only without icons so they can only be searched for, not seen on the map as conventionally. When I complained, TomTom swapped it for a Pro 5150 Truck (temporarily "which you can use until we find a solution") but I've had no end of trouble with their pathetic MyDrive Connect software.

    I don't use Bluetooth with any sat navs but it's strange that you should mention the traffic system.
    Last Saturday, on the way back from the NEC, there was an accident which closed a lane on the A19 a couple of miles from our house. The Garmin notified us of the accident when it was about 35 miles away. A radio traffic report came on at about the same time. The warning was repeated as we came closer to the location. TomTom, however, did not notify us of the incident at all. There have been a couple of other occasions recently which make me think that Garmin quietly upgraded their traffic system with the last map update.
    TomTom Traffic (on the Pro Truck 5150 anyway) also relies on having a Vodafone signal. There have been a couple of occasions when we've been leaving a THS in a country location and it hasn't picked up a signal for some reason.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. laurieash
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    400
  2. Madmag
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    605
  3. parigby
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    701
  4. maison
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    649
  5. ralphie67
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    422

Share This Page