Avtex USB port power

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by PaulB, Oct 6, 2016.

  1. PaulB

    PaulB Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Will an Avtex TV/DVDs USB port power an external USB HDD so that you can play films etc recorded on the drive?
     
  2. DJA

    DJA Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Kent
    Our Avtex TV's does. Plays USB sticks and a 1tb hardrive.

    Doug
     
  3. DuxDeluxe

    DuxDeluxe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9,361
    Likes Received:
    25,109
    Location:
    Planet Zog
    Good question.

    I tried and it didn't work, but others have done so. What is the trick?
     
  4. DJA

    DJA Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Kent
    The trick is getting the file formats correct so the TV can play them.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. PaulB

    PaulB Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Cumbria
    What hard drive do you use Doug and what file format do you save/rip video
     
  6. DuxDeluxe

    DuxDeluxe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9,361
    Likes Received:
    25,109
    Location:
    Planet Zog
    You know what the next question is going to be......... ;)
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  7. DJA

    DJA Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Kent
    Hi PaulB

    I use a software programme called MagicDVDRipper and I select .avi as the format I want when it copies DVD's. It will copy bought DVD's but not for me as I am to mean to buy them. I get the programmes and films from the TV and store them on a Hardrives so I can view them later when in the motorhome. When you download the software from the website you can also download a DivX file which I recommend you do.

    Our Avtex TV has a habit for turning off DivX and if you look on here you will find advise on how to turn it on again.

    I use the MagicDVDRipper software, about £40, as I tried several and I could get that one to work. I have used it for many films and TV programmes and it has been well worth it. When I find a simpler method of capturing the films I will be very happy.

    The TV requires the Hardrive to be Fat32 formatted like a USB stick. I have got Transcend Hardrives which come Fat32 formatted . However they have to be USB 2 units (orange) which Amazon don't seem to be offering now, not USB 3 (Green). So unless you can get USB2 units I would suggest you get a large USB stick, non USB3 just in case although I think one I have is okay, and load on it the films etc you want to watch from your Hardrive which then can be any format. Please note that we have a Transcend 1tb hardrive and whilst it is supposed to be back compatable with USB 2 the TV cannot see the files properly.
    i
    A standard film takes up about 1-1.3GB of storage so a 1tb hardrive will store a lots of films.

    Hope that helps.

    Doug
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. PaulB

    PaulB Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Is this the one Doug?

    Paul
     
  9. DJA

    DJA Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Kent
    Hi Paul

    Thats it. Bit dearer than I remember. It is worth keeping the software that is on it as it includes recovery software which I have used successfully in the past. Not needed it on that hardrive though.

    Doug
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. taralabradog

    taralabradog Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northumberland
    I find it easier to play it through the laptop to the TV using VLC media player via the HDMI port then it doesn't matter what format it is in.
    P.S. VLC is free and I haven't yet found a format it won't play
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. Langtoftlad

    Langtoftlad Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    3,960
    Location:
    Langtoft, South Lincs
    ...or even a cheap tablet - bizarrely the cheaper ones tend to come with an HD expansion slot & HDMI socket. [plus if only to be used as a player via TV you don't need to worry about expensive bits like screen & processor]
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,156
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    I have one old 500GB USB drive that refuses to start up in some computers, obviously too power hungry, but it did work in our TV ( not Avtex ).

    However 500GB is too small and the TV wears ( as in clipped to the rear ) a 1TB.

    If a USB memory stick does not work then it's down to the TV letting you down on file types.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. DuxDeluxe

    DuxDeluxe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9,361
    Likes Received:
    25,109
    Location:
    Planet Zog
    Thanks Brian. 32gb USB FAT32 works OK, but it doesn't recognise the FAT32 portable hard drive. I just assumed it was too power hungry..........
     
  14. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,156
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    So many solutions today. Raspberry Pi is £30 of powerful computer with HDMI out that makes a decent media player for those with a bit of skill to set it up. £30 and far more powerful than the original IBM PC at £5,500 ( I have the receipt ) which did not even have high res graphics. The 5" floppy drives were about £500 each.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. Langtoftlad

    Langtoftlad Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    3,960
    Location:
    Langtoft, South Lincs
    Some USB HDD need more power than some sockets provide - as you've discovered.
    One solution if you have two sockets on your TV, is a double cable eg
    [​IMG]
    Example only as much depends on what plug you need for the hard drive.

    @hilldweller Raspberry Pi sounds good but I have no electronics skills nor know how to wield a soldering iron.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  16. Deneb

    Deneb Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Herts
    I have no experience of this, as like @PaulB I'm new to all this and haven't yet had time to sort it out, but I read a post on another forum where a user had experimented with his Avtex TV playing from media storage and found that 32GB FAT32 was the maximum size USB stick or other storage that the TV would recognise. The solution for larger external hard drives was to format them into a number of separate partitions, each 32GB or less.

    Another post recommended the Cyclone multimedia player as an alternative. Another link in the chain, but it plays AV files in a variety of formats, and he stated that by plugging the Cyclone into the Avtex via an HDMI lead, you could plug pretty much any size drive into it and it would play almost anything. The Cyclone seems to be available for about £28 - £32 on various web sites. I've been thinking of getting one.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  17. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,156
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  18. Langtoftlad

    Langtoftlad Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    3,960
    Location:
    Langtoft, South Lincs
    I had a linux Asus for awhile worked fine.
    But how might that be better than say the Cylone Media Player as mentioned above?
    Amazon Link
    Appreciate the Pi has a lot more flexibility [if you can program it] and the Cyclone is a one trick pony.
     
  19. DJA

    DJA Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Kent
    Hi Deneb

    I have 2 of the Transcend hardrives shown above by @PaulB, One is 1TB and the other is 640GB. Both Hardrives were formatted Fat32 when they were received and all I have done is loaded files onto them. I have not partitioned them in any way. I also have an old hardrive from a previous computer which is Fat32 formatted and that works fine as well.

    I can plug these into the USB socket on my 16" W163DR TV which we have had for a few years. The TV recognises the contents of the Hardrives and provided DivX is On in the internal menu it can read the file names and play them.

    Doug
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  20. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,156
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    You've summed it up perfectly. If the cyclone does just what you want. job done.

    But if not then there is a chance the Pi could be loaded with a different player. The Pi is up for Kodi too. And of course emails and internet. What's more it's British, with a British processor though the Japs have just bought ARM for £24,000,000,000.

    I have a Pi but I've just not been inspired to do anything special with it. For the MH our standard TV does all the media work we need. Just clipped a 1TB HD on the back with rips of all our DVDs and some off air movies.
     
Loading...

Share This Page